Topics

Satellite Weather Pictures

WA7SKG <wa7skg@...>

I've been having fun lately receiving WEFAX on HF. I'd also like to try my hand at getting weather pictures from the NOAA VHF satellites. They apparently do not use the same WEFAX format (APT?) Will fldigi decode these, or must I use something else?

tnx es 73,
Michael WA7SKG

Tim

Hello Michael,

In a prevision message I introduced myself. I am new to Fldigi and digital communications. Can you provide information on the process of receiving WEFAX on HF and pictures from NOAA VHF?

Thanks.

Tim
N8NEU

Cliff

The NOAA WEFAX freq and schedules can be found at the links on this site: https://search.usa.gov/search?v%3Aproject=firstgov&query=wefax&affiliate=noaa.gov

I don’t know if the format for VHF is the same so someone else will have to help you with those.

In fldigi just go to the frequency and select the WEFAX mode. It should work though you may need to make some adjustments. Have a look at the fldigi help manual for details of how to make the adjustments.

Cliff, AE5ZA

On Oct 29, 2018, at 11:28, Tim via Groups.Io <N8NEU@...> wrote:

Hello Michael,

In a prevision message I introduced myself. I am new to Fldigi and digital communications. Can you provide information on the process of receiving WEFAX on HF and pictures from NOAA VHF?

Thanks.

Tim
N8NEU

KB3RAN 1692/381

What frequency are you receiving the WEFAX signal on?

David Hardy   
KB3RAN
CARA President

WA7SKG <wa7skg@...>

First, I configure/connect my radio and computer as with any other digital mode. In my case, I am using an IC-7300 and a Windows 10 laptop. A single USB cable connects the two, providing both audio and CAT control.