Topics

Electric Glider Winch

Bill Daniels

I have been working on the design for about 10 years.  The prototype is nearing completion in Bend Oregon.

It is electric because it gives the most precise control of motor torque.  It also eliminates a shifting transmission and torque converter.

Stephen Williams

"Nearing completion" meaning that you're back at work on it again?
That's good. I really can't wait to see it working.

Stephen

On 01/05/2021 03:09 PM, Bill Daniels wrote:
I have been working on the design for about 10 years.  The prototype is
nearing completion in Bend Oregon.

It is electric because it gives the most precise control of motor
torque.  It also eliminates a shifting transmission and torque converter.

Bill Daniels

Stephen, I'm not "back working on it again" as I live in Alamogordo 1,200 miles from where it is being built.  Henry Irvine has never stopped working on his winch.

mwahlgreen@...

I Denmark Elvira was built in the end of the 70's and start of 80'

https://herningsvaeveflyveklub.dk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=8

However it runs on Diesel it is a fanstastic ride, so smooth.

mwahlgreen@...

Another more commercial approach: The ESW-2B 

http://www.startwinde.de/startseite.html

karls@...

Only pollution free if it is off the grid.

From: winchops@groups.io <winchops@groups.io> On Behalf Of mwahlgreen@...
Sent: Thursday, February 18, 2021 12:46 PM
To: winchops@groups.io
Subject: Re: [winchops] Electric Glider Winch

Brian Neff

I have flown on the electric winch in Unterwösen on two different seasons:  Runs off grid power. 

We have a gas winch for sale right now price includes delivery to the west coast in CA. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8MxD_gkKlQ&t=90s

On Thursday, February 18, 2021, 09:18:59 AM HST, mwahlgreen@... <mwahlgreen@...> wrote:

Ulrich Neumann

>> Only pollution free if it is off the grid. <<