Re: Wiring Setup

Mark Gurries

From: WiringForDCC@... [mailto:WiringForDCC@...] On Behalf Of John
Sent: Wednesday, January 01, 2014 8:02 PM

I am a newbie to DCC and am trying to figure out the best way to wire. My HO gauge set has 3 lines and a train yard. The lines are 36, 20 and 15 feet long. They go over and under each other so I've read that my track feeders usually 22awg) would be fed by a block bus (say 18awg). The block bus then feeds off the power bus (12-14awg) and this is where the detector sits. (Not sure what a Detector means)
On Jan 1, 2014, at 9:55 PM, John wrote:
I was in the NCE group and realized it probably wasn't the right place to be asking this question. There they had recommended using a detector like NCE's BD20 on the main bus,and stated the following advantages:

1. Total isolation of the track circuit and the signal circuit.
2. Generally easier installation.
3. Ability to have the coil remote from the electronics connected by
26awg phone patch panel wire.
4. NO VOLTAGE DROP due to the detector. So any undetected track, like
industry sidings have the same voltage as the mains.
5. Easier to retrofit a layout than the diode detectors.

They said it would detect a train in a train block. So since I'm only going to be running 2 to 3 trains at a time I'm thinking I wouldn't need this.
You have not clearly stated what your desired intention is for the use of occupancy detection. To address the question about detectors, one must take a step back and ask why you need any detector at all. Normally people add detection to the layout because they want to add signaling to the layout or some subset of that such as setting up some working crossing gate animation. To be clear, there is NO DCC requirement that says you must install signals or animation. These are all options you can add if you desire.