Thoughts on purity

Mahiruha

I’ve always had a lot of trouble organizing my life and figuring out what my priorities should be.  Sometimes I feel like I’m just coasting along.  I don’t know what to do, so I’ll just go with the flow.

I guess this applies to housework and the cleanliness of my personal space.  I’ve always struggled.  I also have had trouble planning out my day.  Once again, it’s easier to just coast than to make those tough decisions.

A while back I encountered some obstructions in my spiritual life, some roadblocks.  The only way to get around them was to focus more intensely on Guru’s consciousness, through his writings and his music.  Sometimes we go through tough times, but we come out of them with stronger aspiration.  I like to think that’s what happened in my case.

Anyway, during my “hard times”, I decided that maybe it would help if I tried to purify my life a little.  I started practicing Guru’s prescribed exercise for purity.  It’s a simple exercise: you chant the name of God five hundred times on Monday, then increase the number each day until by the following Monday you are repeating the mantra twelve hundred times, and then you decrease the number until once again you come back down to five hundred.  He recommended people can do this exercise for one month if they want purity.

I tried it, and golly gee, it worked!  I did feel more pure after a month, and I have continued this exercise, off and on, for a few months now.

I noticed some immediate effects of bringing purity into my life.  For one thing, I am now able to plan out my day.  I can see what my priorities are, and I can make choices based on those priorities.  Before, I couldn’t weigh different options, I felt lost.  Now, I see things with more clarity.

This might seem really simplistic, but it has been so liberating to me to have a plan!  Purity helps you get control of your emotions and thoughts.  So, naturally, you can divide up and use your time better.