philo-celtic-society@groups.io


SCOIL CHUMANN CARAD NA GAEILGE / THE PHILO-CELTIC SOCIETY SCHOOL

FREE WORLDWIDE ON-LINE IRISH LANGUAGE CLASSES.  

Ár gcuspóir:  chun úsáid na Gaeilge a spreagadh agus a chothú ar fud an domhain.
Our goal:  to encourage and 
advance the use of Irish throughout the world.

Fall Term: September 15, 2021 through January 23, 2022

This is our worldwide school community.  Access our free classes by joining us.  That’s easy to do.  Just click on "
Join This Group" or "Apply for membership in this group" on this page.  Then you'll get an email from us with links to the groups.io webpages of our various free classes.  When you get that email, choose the classes you want, follow the links to their pages, and enroll in those individual classes by clicking on their “Join this Group” or “Apply for membership in this group” buttons. 

Beginning classes:

Starting To Learn.  Zoom class for absolute beginners.  Two sessions: 
1.  Fridays at 8PM New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Saturdays at 8AM in Taipei, 9AM in Tokyo, and 10AM in Sydney, Australia).

2.  Sundays at 2PM New York Time and 8PM Luxembourg Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Sundays at 7PM in Ireland)
Teachers:  Gearóid Ó Ceallaigh, Gearóid Ó hAnnaidh.

Progress In Irish 1-15.  Section A.  To be announced. 

Progress In Irish 1-15.  Section B.  Zoom class.  Thursdays at 8PM New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Fridays at 8AM in Taipei, 9AM in Tokyo, and 10AM in Sydney, Australia).  Teacher:  Dineen Grow.  

Progress In Irish 1-15.  Section C.  Zoom class.  Saturdays at 8AM India Standard Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Fridays at 10:30PM in New York and Toronto, 9:30PM in Winnipeg and Chicago, 8:30PM in Denver and Calgary, 7:30PM in Vancouver and Los Angeles, and Saturdays at 10:30AM in Taipei, 11:30AM in Tokyo, and 12:30PM in Sydney, Australia).  Teacher:  Amrita Pai.


Progress In Irish 1-15.  Section D.  Zoom class.  Saturdays at 12:00 noon Ontario and New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including 5PM in Ireland).  Teacher:  Moira MacLellan. 

Progress In Irish 16-30.  Section A.  Zoom class.  Wednesdays at 8:00 PM New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Thursdays at 8AM in Taipei, 9AM in Tokyo, and 10AM in Sydney, Australia).  Teacher:  Éamonn De Bhál.


Progress In Irish 16-30.  Section B.  Zoom class.  Saturdays at 4:00 PM Stockholm time (resulting in various class times worldwide including 3PM in London, 10AM in New York and Toronto, 9AM in Winnipeg and Chicago, and 8AM in Denver and Calgary).  Teacher:  Aindí Mac Donnchadha. 

Intermediate classes:

Progress In Irish 31-45.  Zoom class.  Wednesdays at 7:30-9:00 PM New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Thursdays at 7:30AM in Taipei, 8:30AM in Tokyo, and 9:30AM in Sydney, Australia).  Teacher:  Gréag Ó Nuáin. 

Progress In Irish 46-60.  Zoom class.  Sundays at 10:00 AM New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including 3PM in Ireland).  Teacher:  Éamonn de Bhál.


Progress In Irish 46-60.  In person and Zoom class.  This is a Scoil Ghaeilge Ghearóid Tóibín class which will meet each Wednesday in the AOH Hall in Babylon, New York, at 8PM New York Time and zoom worldwide (resulting in various class times worldwide including Thursdays at 8AM in Taipei, 9AM in Tokyo, and 10AM in Sydney, Australia).  Teacher:  Séamas Ó Neachtain. 

Progress In Irish 61-72.  Zoom class.  Fridays beginning 9/24 at 8PM New York Time (resulting in various class times worldwide including Saturdays at 8AM in Taipei, 9AM in Tokyo, and 10AM in Sydney, Australia).  Teacher:  George Merrill.   

Progress In Irish 61-72.  In person and Zoom class.  This is a Scoil Ghaeilge Ghearóid Tóibín class which will meet each Wednesday in the AOH Hall in Babylon, New York, at 8PM New York Time and zoom worldwide (resulting in various class times worldwide including Saturdays at 8AM in Taipei, 9AM in Tokyo, and 10AM in Sydney, Australia).   Teacher:  Liam Ó hOdhráin.


Advanced workshops:

Ardcheardlann 1.  ar Zoom.  For those who have finished Progress In Irish.  Gach Céadaoin 8:00-9:00 PM am Nua-Eabhraic (agus mar sin ag amanna éagsúla timpeall an domhain le gach Déardaoin ar 8AM i dTaipei, 9AM i dTóiceo, agus 10AM i Sydney, an Astráil, ina measc).  Múinteoir:  Lugh de Paor.

Ardcheardlann 2.  Insan Halla AOH i mBablóin, Nua-Eabhrac agus ar Zoom.  Léamh agus plé bunaithe ar ábhar as an iris AN GAEL.  In Irish with English when necessary.  Gach Céadaoin 9:00-10:00 PM am Nua-Eabhraic (agus mar sin ag amanna éagsúla timpeall an domhain le gach Déardaoin ar 9AM i dTaipei, 10AM i dTóiceo, agus 11AM i Sydney, an Astráil, ina measc).  Múinteoir:  Séamas Ó Neachtain.

Ardcheardlann 3.  ar Zoom.  Comhrá ginearálta mar spraoi agus mar chleachtadh.  In Irish with very little English.  Gach Céadaoin 7:00-8:00PM am Nua-Eabhraic (agus mar sin ag amanna éagsúla timpeall an domhain le gach Déardaoin ar 7AM i dTaipei, 8AM i dTóiceo, agus 9AM i Sydney, an Astráil, ina measc).  Múinteoir:  Lugh de Paor. 

Ardcheardlann 4.  le r-phost.  Ceardlann scríbhneoireachta chun gearrscéalta don fhoghlaimeoir fásta a chur le chéile, agus ar ball leabhar a fhoilsiú.  Eagarthóir:  Séamas Ó Neachtain.

An Gael, iris oifigiúil Chumann Carad na Gaeilge.  Eagarthóir:  Séamas Ó Neachtain.  Más maith leat scríobh don iris AN GAEL, tar isteach insan mbuíon seo:  
https://groups.io/g/angael

Additional Information:

To find out whether you're enrolled in a particular class, click on "Your Groups" at the top of any groups.io page including this one.

If you'd like to volunteer to teach, tell us!

Be sure to remain a member of our online school community (don’t unsubscribe) so that you can continue to receive links to each term’s classes plus news about Irish Language classes, learning materials, activities, events, and the Irish Language Revival around the world. 

For information about free in-person classes at Scoil Ghaeilge Ghearٙóid Tóibín in Babylon, Long Island, New York, go to https://scoilgaeilge.org/fomhar2021.html  

Oibrímid d'athbheochan domhanda na Gaeilge.  Foghlaim faoinár gCumann ar ár bpríomh-shuíomh ag 
http://www.philo-celtic.com  !
We work for the worldwide renaissance of the Irish Language.  Learn about our Society on our website at 
http://www.philo-celtic.com !

LE GACH DEA-GHUÍ,
Séamas Ó Neachtain / Jim Norton
Cathaoirleach / Chair
Cumann Carad na Gaeilge / The Philo-Celtic Society

Ag múineadh na Gaeilge ó 1872 / Teaching the Irish Language since 1872

Group Information

  • http://www.philo-celtic.com
  • 506 Members
  • 459 Topics, Last Post:
  • Started on
  • Feed

Group Email Addresses

Group Settings

  • All members can post to the group.
  • Posts to this group do not require approval from the moderators.
  • Posts from new users require approval from the moderators.
  • Messages are set to reply to group.
  • Subscriptions to this group do not require approval from the moderators.
  • Archive is visible to anyone.
  • Wiki is visible to members only.
  • Members can edit their messages.
  • Members can set their subscriptions to no email.

Top Hashtags [See All]

No used hashtags.

 or  Log In If You Are Already A Member

Message History