Re: Houston's approach to houselessness


Ryan Shanahan
 

Great article. The big takeaways to me were: 

1) Housing first should always be the priority
2) You can accomplish more when all groups come together to rally around a common goal

Thanks for sharing,
-Ryan

On Wed, Jun 15, 2022 at 4:10 PM robert greene <greeneportland@...> wrote:
The article leaves out many problems with land use and climate in Houston, which may affect the actual living conditions in the houses for the homeless.

Thanks for posting the article.

Robert Greene

On Wed, Jun 15, 2022 at 9:11 AM Angie Gilbert <kaytayang@...> wrote:
Hi many of you have probably already seen this, but a colleague shared it, so wanted to pass it along just in case. It's a powerful idea, however, I know every idea has its high and low points in terms of effectiveness and real support people need with dignity and awareness. Angie

---------- Forwarded message ---------
From: David Groff <dgroff45@...>
Date: Tue, Jun 14, 2022 at 1:21 PM
Subject: Houston's approach to houselessness
To: David Groff <dgroff45@...>
Cc: Elizabeth Ussher Groff <eugroff@...>, Helena Te <torchafire@...>, Tom Hering <tehering@...>, Diane Anderson <deanders@...>, Marie Langenes <mlangenes@...>, Wardenaar@... <wardenaar@...>, Sarabelle Hitchner <shitchner@...>, Sarah Carolus <scarolus3@...>, Chris Dela Cruz <cdelacruz@...>, Danielle Klock <danielle@...>, Angie Gilbert <kaytayang@...>, Paul Christensen <paul87xx@...>, Judy and Marc Johnson and Marc Sussman <j.johnsonatty@...>, Chris Shimamoto <chris.thewinenomad@...>, Zubaida Ula <zubaida.ula@...>, Emily Groth <dascenzo12@...>, Denise Blair <denise@...>, Abby Bohn <abby@...>, Kolin Busby <kolinonw@...>, Karen Nettler <karen.en21@...>, Andy Harris <andyharrismd4@...>, Libby <info.operationnightwatch@...>, John Calhoun <john@...>, LeRoy Patton <lpatton615@...>, Beth Outterson <bethoutterson@...>, Kate Thompson <katethompsonpdx@...>, Des Nahimana <desire4636@...>, John Hasenjaeger <john.hasenjaeger@...>


Hi all,

This article from today's NYT is quite interesting.  Houston has certainly not solved houselessness but it is doing better than Portland.  I hope that you all can access this piece and either listen to it (40 minutes) or read it.

How Houston Moved 25,000 People From the Streets Into Homes of Their Own

David

Join pdxshelterforum@groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.