Fabric quilt issue

Maria Morrow <margormor@...>

Hello. First let me thank all for the generosity in sharing information. No one has "spare" time in this life--we all have 24 hours a day with which to live and give.

I just pieced a baby quilt with fabric that was 75% off at Joann. I have been buying off Etsy, which I know carries the better brands (Moda, etc). Some of the Joann fabrics are definitely lower grade, particularly the solids; but I hate to waste the work. I didn't realize this until I asked a fellow guild member and she told me. I am new to quilting but as I was piecing it, I could tell it didn't go together and feel as solid as the few others I've done with Moda fabrics

Here is the question. Could I (should I) reinforce the back of the top with a solid piece of white fabric before the batting? Any other ideas?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Maria Morrow

Cas <cas@...>

Maria, when you plan to wash it the weave will tighten up in the washer and dryer and it will probably be fine. I tend not to use Joann’s fabrics any more either.  I can sure tell the difference.  The time it takes trying to control and starch and stabilize the flimsy, raveling fabric cancels out any savings you might be getting.  Sometimes they do have good fabric though.  You just have to feel each one and hold it up to the light.  Sometimes, though, they feel great but once the sizing is washed out they are not so great.

Cas

Sent: Tuesday, May 02, 2017 3:18 PM
To: janome12000@...
Subject: [janome12000] Fabric quilt issue

Hello. First let me thank all for the generosity in sharing information. No one has "spare" time in this life--we all have 24 hours a day with which to live and give.