Embroidery training

Lou Ann

Has anybody out there in our group discovered a site where they compare stabilizers, thread, fabric, needles, designs and stitch counts, even various machines?  I've been embroidering for a few years and still have trouble getting that absolutely smooth look that I see on web sites and in magazines; the ones that don't have ANY fabric distortion around the design.  I still wonder what the secret is to perfect embroidery or even if there is a secret.

HEATHER COWAN

Louann ... I think we all find our tricks and techniques.  I am an odd ball .... I guess but I don't sweat stabilizer.  I use mostly Marathon or Madeira thread.  I keep my machine lint free and change needles often.  I seldom have any puckers or fabric distortion ...... I use designs that are well digitized with good density and pull compensation.  I do NOT EVER hoop fabric.  I believe that the hooping causes pull on the fabric so it stretches a bit and then when unhooped it snaps back .... Then puckers.  
I starch my fabric well with STA-FLO blue starch mixed at about 30% starch to 70% water.  Very low cost and easy to get at grocery store.  I hoop med weight tear away for most things unless it needs washaway or cutaway for t-shirts.  I use the machine baste stitch to attach fabric to stabilizer and then let-r-rip.  With 100% cotton I am always happy with result.  With knits I seldom have trouble.  Sometimes in blend fabrics with lots of nap .(velour). .... I get the odd result that isn't perfect.  It it doesn't press out ..... I change fabric.  Life is so short and there are lots of fabrics.... Why battle with one that is cranky.  
I know that the sellers of stabilizer disagree with me BUT.... I think a well digitized design will stitch out well ....... You do not need ten types of stabilizer ....  FSL... Wash away.  T-shirts cut away and everything else has to have a sense of humour and accept tear away or it is put of here.
Good luck
Heather

Sent from my iPad