Re: AcuEdit

Cat - N

I'm a relative newbie with digitizing...LOL  I could have gotten MBX from my dealer, but they told me right up front they knew nothing about digitizers/digitizing/MBX and I would need my own resources.  I actually got Hatch, but had been using several other software packages before Hatch existed...including editing designs...needle drop by needle drop...in a free version by Wilcom. 

I have only been digitizing with Hatch for about 6 years, and am basically self taught, though I did learn from Maggie for a time, and I signed up for a digitizing 'class' online that I was only able to use the first class because the materials to download were 'missing' from that website.  I watched some videos, looked at the manual, and everything I could find...this was all long before Maggie found me.

I actually started looking at digitizing more than those 6-ish years ago...started even before I got my first embroidery machine, using some 'free' software that had absolutely NO instructions...most written by programmers whose wives embroidered, so they wrote digitizing software for their wives.

So, that was my first 'mental whiplash'...and how I realized I needed to 'learn the embroidery/digitizing code' BEFORE I spent "a comma" on a digitizer...even before I could evaluate WHICH digitizer I needed, I knew I HAD to figure out what all those words/features/techniques were/meant. 

All of that is why, about 6 years ago, I bought Hatch (not long after it came out)...plus I have a long and extensive background in graphics, having written my own drawing programs before there were 'canned' graphics/drawing programs for computers (before the IBM PC was invented), and having used and taught many 'canned' (commercially available) drawing/painting/graphics programs both personally and as a 30+year I.T. professional...and Hatch (and Embrilliance) were the 'most like' those.