Re: New to the group and experiencing a problem

Dennis Klipa

Terry,

I am by no means an expert and I am sure you will get lots of help from others with this but it sounds like you have two problems.

The shutting down on transmit sounds like the power supply voltage at the input to the radio drops below 11 V when you transmit and increase the current draw.  Similar cases have been traced back to poor contacts in the fuse/fuse holder assemblies, both the internal fuse and any inline fuses.  A high SWR should not cause the radio to shut down, but the output power would be reduced to near zero.

The second issue, the analyzer not working through the tuner, is a bit tougher.  I can only offer one observation.  Just because an antenna works well on receive does not necessarily mean it will work on transmit.  For example, if I have my 160 meter dipole hooked directly to my HF rig and try to listen on 20 meters, the SWR is terrible and the  signal levels are low.  BUT, if I unscrew the PL259 at the back of the rig and pull the connector out just a smidge so that the shield connection is opened but the center pin is connected, the signals levels jump right up.  I can receive great, but it doesn't transmit worth a darn.  I now have a long wire connected to the radio, not a transmission line.  So you may have a bad coax connection on the shield side somewhere.  This would cause the problems you are seeing.  On the other hand, it may well be a completely different issue.

Good luck and best regards,
Dennis, N8ERF

On Thu, Apr 23, 2020 at 5:19 AM Terry Y <tkyoung2009@...> wrote:
I just subscribed to the group this evening; my name is Terry Young, call sign n0ve