Re: Online Repository Assistant

Ron Chapman

On 30/06/2020 23:

Using ORA for entering data from Workhouse Records into Family Historian.

This is my first attempt and it seems to work. I will do more testing soon.

Find My Past have a fine set Workhouse records for Liverpool amongst many others. My ancestor Charles William Thornton was in and out of the many Workhouses / Hospitals in Liverpool over many years. From this I found that different registers exist. For instance the Creed Registers, the Index To Admission, Discharge And Religious Creed Register, the Admissions & Discharges (Religious Creed Register), the Admissions Register, Register Of Children etc. Each of these books has its columns organised in a different way with differing information. Find my Past have images attached of the register.

Find My Past has an index that shows a few of the details. For instance First Name(s), Last Name, Year, Age, Birth Year, Place, but not much more. It is this data that ORA extracts. (Plus source and citation details)

It misses information such as creed, Married or Single, Calling (Occupation), By whose order Admitted, Parish from which sent, Disease, Date Admitted, Date Discharged to where, Ward,  Street or Court from whence brought, Address of Friends for example. So ORA will catch none of this.

So I see the main use for ORA with Workhouse records is to get ORA to set up Automatic Source and Citation and then use this to enter the other details by hand as usual, one by one.

To set up an Auto Type Template for Source use the following –

Reminder: Source –

Go to Add in Main menu and in the drop down list select Source ... In the property box place the cursor in the title box. Press the Auto Text button 1 and the boxes will auto fill. You will still have to add the repository by hand. Find My Past in this case.

Template: Source –