Re: lost link
toggle quoted messageShow quoted text
I have a green Tick by my desired Project in the project Window and it is shown in the Tool>Preferences>Startup>Default Startup file.
I have decided to use the first option you suggested in your previous e-mail ie Keep my projects permanently on One Drive >Documents>familyHistorian projects folder.
It seems much simpler than the other alternative and at my age I am all for simplicity.
Am I correct in saying that all I need to do now is delete the copy that is stored on This PC in Windows File Explorer and the project will then be held on my computer and on the cloud via One Drive.
My thanks for your patience in navigating me through this situation.
From: email@example.com <firstname.lastname@example.org> On Behalf Of Mike Tate
Sent: 26 September 2021 17:07
Subject: Re: [family-historian] lost link
I assume the shortcut is the one created at installation and will simply run FH with whatever settings you choose.
The File > Project Window list of Projects is chosen by the Location setting in that window.
The default Project that is opened needs one of those listed Projects to be selected and shown with a green tick.
i.e. Select your desired Project, probably ‘Michael & Barbara family’, then use More Tasks… > Set as Default Project.
That project’s GEDCOM file will also be specified in Tools > Preferences > Startup > Default Startup File.
You can delete any individual Project by using More Tasks… > Delete Project…
But that won’t delete the Family Historian Projects folder itself, which must be done using Windows File Explorer.