Thank you. Yes, I have seen the other posts, but with other software
it is usually just the upgrade that overwrites, not the stand alone
pristine start-from-scratch version. That is why I bought the full
version. That's what I did when FH6 was released and I don't recall
any problem with FH5. Alas, it seems I have wasted my money.
toggle quoted messageShow quoted text
On 17/12/2020 12:32, Mike Tate wrote:
you not see all the other postings on this topic?
updates/upgrades always overwrite the previous installation
but FH v7.0 makes more changes than most.
can keep FH v6.2 on one PC and install FH v7.0 on another PC
but they can’t share anything.
can migrate the FH v6.2 Projects and Settings to FH v7.0 but
there is no easy way back.
Export Gedcom File plugin allows FH v7.0 Projects to be
exported in FH v6.2 format.
the only sure way of getting back to FH v6.2 is with Full
Project Backups AND the Backup and Restore Family Historian
Settings plugin backups.
last suggestion will certainly result in carnage.
have paid for and downloaded a full version of FH7, not the
upgrade, thinking I would be able to install on my computer
without affecting the original version FH6.2.7. On a second
laptop, on installation, the program detects the previous
version and overwrites without providing an option to
I would like to install FH7 as a pristine version without
affecting my FH6 system and then perhaps import the FH6
gedcom later. Is it possible to do that?
What would happen if I unstinstall FH6, then install FH7,
then re-install FH6 as well ? I'm guessing that would create
carnage. Am I missing something?