Re: Box deletion
toggle quoted messageShow quoted text
Very helpful, you have solved my problem.
From: Mike Tate
Sent: 24 October 2020 16:19
Subject: Re: [family-historian] Box deletion
‘Diagrams’ are only transient working trees. Any rearrangement of boxes is lost when closed.
To preserve settings there are two techniques.
See View > Custom Diagram Types
Nevertheless, you say you “made a mistake” that you were trying to correct by deleting boxes.
Selecting a box and choosing ‘Delete’ offers to delete diagram items only or the underlying Project data records.
If the mistake exists in the Project database, then that second option is the one you need.
i.e. You really want to remove that person from your Project database permanently.
But maybe you only want to disconnect them from the tree as a relative at their current location.
So it all depends on what sort of mistake you are trying to correct.
If you could give a clearer explanation of the problem we can explain the best corrective solution.
Regards, Mike Tate
From: email@example.com <firstname.lastname@example.org> On Behalf Of Mike Hann
I am trying to delete some boxes from my “all relatives diagram”. I made a mistake.
When I highlight the box, go to edit, then delete. I see two options, the first says “delete selected diagram items only”. So I click this. Then I get “caution, for the purposes of deletion a tree counts as a single diagram...” So I assume it would delete the lot??
The advice given is to hide individual boxes. but when I do this they reappear next time I open up the file.