More on the Genus Tabellaria (Long!) #glossary

Richard Carter

In working out what might have happened when I gave Charles two different identifications for the image he posted, I decided to finally tackle the genus Tabellaria head on, something I have been avoiding for a couple of years now.  I've always had problems distinguishing between the taxa in the genus, so this morning I sat down with Krammer & Lange-Bertalot (and my trusty German dictionary!), and read the entire section on Tabellaria.  Then I turned to two very nice slides that exhibit large populations of the genus, two species on each slide, had some long looks, and made some quick snapshots.  The two slides are from Pike Bay, Lake Vermilion, Minnesota (a strew by Klaus Kemp), and Kilgore West, Spiddal, County Galway, Ireland (a splendid gift from Leszek Wolnik).  I've added the snapshots to "Dick's Diatoms", and this is what I think they reveal: