Date   
Re: : Removing and Repacing Scoring Clips For Jump Shots

 

Thanks Tony,

I assume that the request to the referee for removal of the clips must be made by the striker or partner, else if could be advice.

Regards
Rik

Re: Removing and Repacing Scoring Clips For Jump Shots

Tony Hall
 

At 09:25 AM 23/03/2016, you wrote:
1. Who is responsible for the removal and replacement of the clips?
TH: It is not necessarily a requirement but a wise striker will always have them or it removed. It is unspecified as to who should do so.

2. What is the consequences of the ball in the hoop being moved during the removal and replacement of the clips?
TH: If the striker causes the movement of the ball then he has made a non-striking fault and loses the turn he was about to play.
If a non-striker causes the movement he has made a non-striking fault and loses the next turn his side is due to play.
If the referee causes the movement there is no penalty to anyone other than his embarrassment.

In all cases the referee or if none then the players must ensure the ball is replaced where it was before the movement.

Cheers, Tony

Removing and Repacing Scoring Clips For Jump Shots

 

A couple of questions in regard to the above

1. Who is responsible for the removal and replacement of the clips?

2. What is the consequences of the ball in the hoop being moved during the removal and replacement of the clips?


.

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Tony Hall
 

Dear brenda,

No.

Tony


At 05:28 PM 22/03/2016, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] wrote:
 

Hi Tony,
I understand that (although a lot of "ordinary" GC players can't do a roll), but regardless of where blue ends up, provided red runs hoop 1 in its next shot, is yellow offside?
Brenda

On 22/03/2016 3:36 PM, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] wrote:
 

The only way I can play what amounts to a croquet
stroke from near hoop 1 and send a touching ball
out near corner 3 while sending my own striker's
ball to hoop 2 is with a roll. It is physically
impossible to do that with a take-off, whether that is thin or thick.

Cheers,

Tony

At 12:57 PM 22/03/2016, you wrote:
>
>
>Hi Tony,
>Why?
>Brenda
>
>Sent from my iPad
>
>On 22 Mar 2016, at 11:05, Tony Hall
> < mailto:tony.hall@...>tony.hall@...
>[cnswplayers]
>< < mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@... > wrote:
>
>>
>>
>>But 10(b)(3) does apply if the stroke which
>>sent the Blue ball to corner 3 was a roll - which it must have been.
>>
>>Cheers, Tony
>>
>>At 09:26 AM 22/03/2016, alix verge
>> < mailto:alixverge@...>alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>Bummer ..... THWARTED.
>>>
>>>
>>>Alix (mob)
>>>0400 825 920
>>>
>>>AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788
>>>
>>>
>>>-------- Original message --------
>>>From: "'Jan Sage'
>>> < mailto:myoora803@...>myoora803@...
>>>[cnswplayers]"
>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@... >
>>>Date:22/03/2016 8:44 AM (GMT+10:00)
>>>To: < mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
>>>Cc:
>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the
>>>WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
>>>10.2 Ruling
>>>The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not
>>>result from a ball being played away from an
>>>opponent ball with which it was in contact.
>>>
>>>Jan Sage
>>>
>>>From:
>>> < mailto:cnswplayers@...>mailto:cnswplayers@...
>>>Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
>>>To: < mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>Hi Alix,
>>>I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
>>>Brenda
>>>
>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>
>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge
>>> < mailto:alixverge@...>alixverge@...
>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>
>>>>
>>>>Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a
>>>>definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....
>>>>
>>>>If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the
>>>>striker) is in contact with blue and I do a
>>>>roll which sends blue off the court by corner
>>>>3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow
>>>>to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs
>>>>the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled
>>>>the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>Alix (mob)
>>>>0400 825 920
>>>>
>>>>AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>-------- Original message --------
>>>>From: "Roberta
>>>> < mailto:roberta_flint@...>roberta_flint@...
>>>>[cnswplayers]"
>>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...>
>>>>Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
>>>>To: < mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
>>>>Cc:
>>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>Ahhh!
>>>>Thanks Brenda
>>>>
>>>>Cheers
>>>>
>>>>Roberta
>>>>
>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda
>>>> < mailto:brenda@...>brenda@...
>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>Hello Roberta,
>>>>>When the balls are close, there is a danger
>>>>>of a double tap. If they are touching, it
>>>>>does not matter how they are hit. The
>>>>>situation usually arises when a ball is
>>>>>partway through a hoop and an opponents ball
>>>>>is on the other side ready to knock it out!
>>>>>Brenda
>>>>>
>>>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>>>
>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta
>>>>> < mailto:roberta_flint@...>roberta_flint@...
>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Why does having the balls touch resolve this?
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Cheers
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Roberta
>>>>>>
>>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage'
>>>>>> < mailto:myoora803@...>myoora803@...
>>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Hi Brenda,
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>When people make such a claim – eg limit
>>>>>>>of turns with close bbut non-touching
>>>>>>>balls – I ask them to show me where it is
>>>>>>>written iin the Rules or Tournament
>>>>>>>Regulations. If it is not written, it does
>>>>>>>not apply. Over time I have been
>>>>>>>confronted by a number of quaint ideas,
>>>>>>>such as “the mallet must not touch your
>>>>>>>clothing•€� or “ the ball may
>>>>>>>only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.‬�
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Jan Sage
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>From:
>>>>>>> < mailto:cnswplayers@...>mailto:cnswplayers@...
>>>>>>>Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
>>>>>>>To:
>>>>>>> < mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
>>>>>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Thanks, Tony.
>>>>>>>A few people have said there is a limit
>>>>>>>with the non-touching balls so it is good
>>>>>>>to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
>>>>>>>Brenda
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall
>>>>>>> < mailto:tony.hall@...>tony.hall@...
>>>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Dear Brenda,
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>1. No.
>>>>>>>>2. I am not aware of any, except that
>>>>>>>>the games should be competitive, not social.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Best Regards,
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Tony
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans
>>>>>>>> < mailto:brenda@...>brenda@...
>>>>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>>>>< < mailto:cnswplayers@... > cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>Hello Golf Croquet Players
>>>>>>>>>I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
>>>>>>>>>1. In a case where 2 balls are close
>>>>>>>>>(in the hoop) but not touching, is there
>>>>>>>>>a limit to the number of turns taken
>>>>>>>>>until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?
>>>>>>>>>2. Are there any restrictions that
>>>>>>>>>apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>Thank you, in anticipation
>>>>>>>>>Brenda Evans
>>>>>>>>>Golf Croquet Captain
>>>>>>>>>Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
>>>>>>> < https://www.avast.com/sig-email?utm_medium=email&utm_source=link&utm_campaign=sig-email&utm_content=emailclient>www.avast.com
>>>>>>>
>>>
>>>This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
>>> < https://www.avast.com/sig-email?utm_medium=email&utm_source=link&utm_campaign=sig-email&utm_content=emailclient>www.avast.com
>>>
>

Re: : touching balls, Golf Croquet

Alix Verge
 

Excellent. This shows the utility of GC players learning AC too. You learn to play this sort of "roll" in contact situations, get lots of practice of stun shots (equivalent of AC's "rush") and would eventually improve cut clearances where you wish the cleared ball to go in a particular direction in order to wire etc. Then there is the basic improvement in GC clearance rates derived from mastering the tension of the lift shot - without a successful roquet there's no turn so it's a considerable incentive to improve one's basic aim.


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "amills48@... [cnswplayers]"
Date:22/03/2016 5:27 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: [cnswplayers] Re:: touching balls, Golf Croquet

 

Perfectly Legal


Rule 10 (b) 3

(3) contact with an opponent's ball, however this exemption does not result from a ball played away from an opponent’s ball with which it was in contact, unless it moves that ball in the stroke; or


If playing a roll of that distance you must have shaken the opponent's ball.


Rik


Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Brenda Evans <brenda@...>
 

Hi Tony,
I understand that (although a lot of "ordinary" GC players can't do a roll), but regardless of where blue ends up, provided red runs hoop 1 in its next shot, is yellow offside?
Brenda

On 22/03/2016 3:36 PM, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] wrote:
�

The only way I can play what amounts to a croquet
stroke from near hoop 1 and send a touching ball
out near corner 3 while sending my own striker's
ball to hoop 2 is with a roll. It is physically
impossible to do that with a take-off, whether that is thin or thick.

Cheers,

Tony

At 12:57 PM 22/03/2016, you wrote:
>
>
>Hi Tony,
>Why?
>Brenda
>
>Sent from my iPad
>
>On 22 Mar 2016, at 11:05, Tony Hall
>tony.hall@...
>[cnswplayers]
><cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>
>>
>>
>>But 10(b)(3) does apply if the stroke which
>>sent the Blue ball to corner 3 was a roll - which it must have been.
>>
>>Cheers, Tony
>>
>>At 09:26 AM 22/03/2016, alix verge
>>alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>Bummer ..... THWARTED.
>>>
>>>
>>>Alix (mob)
>>>0400 825 920
>>>
>>>AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788
>>>
>>>
>>>-------- Original message --------
>>>From: "'Jan Sage'
>>>myoora803@...
>>>[cnswplayers]"
>>><cnswplayers@...>
>>>Date:22/03/2016 8:44 AM (GMT+10:00)
>>>To: cnswplayers@...
>>>Cc:
>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the
>>>WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
>>>10.2 Ruling
>>>The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not
>>>result from a ball being played away from an
>>>opponent ball with which it was in contact.
>>>
>>>Jan Sage
>>>
>>>From:
>>>mailto:cnswplayers@...
>>>Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
>>>To: cnswplayers@...
>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>Hi Alix,
>>>I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
>>>Brenda
>>>
>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>
>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge
>>>alixverge@...
>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>< cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>
>>>>
>>>>Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a
>>>>definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....
>>>>
>>>>If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the
>>>>striker) is in contact with blue and I do a
>>>>roll which sends blue off the court by corner
>>>>3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow
>>>>to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs
>>>>the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled
>>>>the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>Alix (mob)
>>>>0400 825 920
>>>>
>>>>AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>-------- Original message --------
>>>>From: "Roberta
>>>>roberta_flint@...
>>>>[cnswplayers]"
>>>>< cnswplayers@...>
>>>>Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
>>>>To: cnswplayers@...
>>>>Cc:
>>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>Ahhh!
>>>>Thanks Brenda
>>>>
>>>>Cheers
>>>>
>>>>Roberta
>>>>
>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda
>>>>brenda@...
>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>< cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>Hello Roberta,
>>>>>When the balls are close, there is a danger
>>>>>of a double tap. If they are touching, it
>>>>>does not matter how they are hit. The
>>>>>situation usually arises when a ball is
>>>>>partway through a hoop and an opponents ball
>>>>>is on the other side ready to knock it out!
>>>>>Brenda
>>>>>
>>>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>>>
>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta
>>>>>roberta_flint@...
>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>< cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Why does having the balls touch resolve this?
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Cheers
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Roberta
>>>>>>
>>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage'
>>>>>>myoora803@...
>>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>>< cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Hi Brenda,
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>When people make such a claim � eg limit
>>>>>>>of turns with close bbut non-touching
>>>>>>>balls � I ask them to show me where it is
>>>>>>>written iin the Rules or Tournament
>>>>>>>Regulations. If it is not written, it does
>>>>>>>not apply. Over time I have been
>>>>>>>confronted by a number of quaint ideas,
>>>>>>>such as �the mallet must not touch your
>>>>>>>clothingâ��€� or â�� the ball may
>>>>>>>only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.��
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Jan Sage
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>From:
>>>>>>>mailto:cnswplayers@...
>>>>>>>Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
>>>>>>>To:
>>>>>>>cnswplayers@...
>>>>>>>Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Thanks, Tony.
>>>>>>>A few people have said there is a limit
>>>>>>>with the non-touching balls so it is good
>>>>>>>to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
>>>>>>>Brenda
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall
>>>>>>>tony.hall@...
>>>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>>>< cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Dear Brenda,
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>1. No.
>>>>>>>>2. I am not aware of any, except that
>>>>>>>>the games should be competitive, not social.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Best Regards,
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Tony
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>Sent from my iPad
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans
>>>>>>>>brenda@...
>>>>>>>>[cnswplayers]
>>>>>>>>< cnswplayers@...> wrote:
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>Hello Golf Croquet Players
>>>>>>>>>I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
>>>>>>>>>1. In a case where 2 balls are close
>>>>>>>>>(in the hoop) but not touching, is there
>>>>>>>>>a limit to the number of turns taken
>>>>>>>>>until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?
>>>>>>>>>2. Are there any restrictions that
>>>>>>>>>apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>Thank you, in anticipation
>>>>>>>>>Brenda Evans
>>>>>>>>>Golf Croquet Captain
>>>>>>>>>Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
>>>>>>>www.avast.com
>>>>>>>
>>>
>>>This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
>>>www.avast.com
>>>
>


Re: : touching balls, Golf Croquet

 

Perfectly Legal


Rule 10 (b) 3

(3) contact with an opponent's ball, however this exemption does not result from a ball played away from an opponent’s ball with which it was in contact, unless it moves that ball in the stroke; or


If playing a roll of that distance you must have shaken the opponent's ball.


Rik


Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Tony Hall
 

The only way I can play what amounts to a croquet
stroke from near hoop 1 and send a touching ball
out near corner 3 while sending my own striker's ball to hoop 2 is with a roll. It is physically
impossible to do that with a take-off, whether that is thin or thick.

Cheers,

Tony

At 12:57 PM 22/03/2016, you wrote:


Hi Tony,
Why?
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 22 Mar 2016, at 11:05, Tony Hall
<mailto:tony.hall@...>tony.hall@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:



But 10(b)(3) does apply if the stroke which
sent the Blue ball to corner 3 was a roll - which it must have been.

Cheers, Tony

At 09:26 AM 22/03/2016, alix verge
<mailto:alixverge@...>alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:


Bummer ..... THWARTED.


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "'Jan Sage'
<mailto:myoora803@...>myoora803@...
[cnswplayers]"
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...>
Date:22/03/2016 8:44 AM (GMT+10:00)
To: <mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet



Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the
WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
10.2 Ruling
The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not
result from a ball being played away from an
opponent ball with which it was in contact.

Jan Sage

From: <mailto:cnswplayers@...>mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
To: <mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet



Hi Alix,
I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge
<mailto:alixverge@...>alixverge@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...> wrote:


Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a
definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....

If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the
striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner
3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow
to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs
the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled
the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta
<mailto:roberta_flint@...>roberta_flint@...
[cnswplayers]"
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: <mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet


Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda
<mailto:brenda@...>brenda@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger
of a double tap. If they are touching, it
does not matter how they are hit. The
situation usually arises when a ball is
partway through a hoop and an opponents ball
is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta
<mailto:roberta_flint@...>roberta_flint@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...> wrote:


Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage'
<mailto:myoora803@...>myoora803@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,

When people make such a claim – eg limit
of turns with close bbut non-touching
balls – I ask them to show me where it is
written iin the Rules or Tournament
Regulations. If it is not written, it does
not apply. Over time I have been
confronted by a number of quaint ideas,
such as “the mallet must not touch your
clothing•€� or “ the ball may
only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.‬�

Jan Sage

From:
<mailto:cnswplayers@...>mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
To:
<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet


Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit
with the non-touching balls so it is good
to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall
<mailto:tony.hall@...>tony.hall@... [cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...> wrote:


Dear Brenda,

1. No.
2. I am not aware of any, except that
the games should be competitive, not social.

Best Regards,

Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans
<mailto:brenda@...>brenda@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...> cnswplayers@...> wrote:



Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
1. In a case where 2 balls are close
(in the hoop) but not touching, is there
a limit to the number of turns taken
until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?
2. Are there any restrictions that
apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?

Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc
This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
<https://www.avast.com/sig-email?utm_medium=email&utm_source=link&utm_campaign=sig-email&utm_content=emailclient>www.avast.com
This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
<https://www.avast.com/sig-email?utm_medium=email&utm_source=link&utm_campaign=sig-email&utm_content=emailclient>www.avast.com

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Tony Hall
 

Dear Alix,

Yes.

Tony

At 09:57 PM 21/03/2016, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:


Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a
definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....

If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the
striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll
which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with
no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2
will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop?
Has starting in contact fulfilled the
requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@...
[cnswplayers]" <cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet



Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda
<mailto:brenda@...>brenda@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of
a double tap. If they are touching, it does not
matter how they are hit. The situation usually
arises when a ball is partway through a hoop
and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta
<mailto:roberta_flint@...>roberta_flint@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:



Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage'
<mailto:myoora803@...>myoora803@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,

When people make such a claim – eg limit of
turns with close bbut non-touching balls – I
ask them to show me where it is written iin
the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is
not written, it does not apply. Over time I
have been confronted by a number of quaint
ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch
your clothing� or “ the ball may only be
placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.�

Jan Sage

From:
<mailto:cnswplayers@...>mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
To: <mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet



Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with
the non-touching balls so it is good to know
the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall
<mailto:tony.hall@...>tony.hall@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:


Dear Brenda,

1. No.
2. I am not aware of any, except that the
games should be competitive, not social.

Best Regards,

Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans
<mailto:brenda@...>brenda@...
[cnswplayers]
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:



Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
1. In a case where 2 balls are close
(in the hoop) but not touching, is there a
limit to the number of turns taken until
one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2. Are there any restrictions that apply
to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?

Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc
This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
<https://www.avast.com/sig-email?utm_medium=email&utm_source=link&utm_campaign=sig-email&utm_content=emailclient>www.avast.com

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Brenda <brenda@...>
 

Hi Tony,
Why?
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 22 Mar 2016, at 11:05, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

But 10(b)(3) does apply if the stroke which sent the Blue ball to corner 3 was a roll - which it must have been.

Cheers, Tony

At 09:26 AM 22/03/2016, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:

 

Bummer ..... THWARTED.


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers]" <cnswplayers@...>
Date:22/03/2016 8:44 AM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet

 

Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
10.2 Ruling
The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not result from a ball being played away from an opponent ball with which it was in contact.
 
Jan Sage
 
From: mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
To: cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
 
 

Hi Alix,
I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....
 
If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?
 
 
Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers]" < cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

 
Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close bbut non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written iin the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
From: mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
To: cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 
Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?

Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Tony Hall
 

But 10(b)(3) does apply if the stroke which sent the Blue ball to corner 3 was a roll - which it must have been.

Cheers, Tony


At 09:26 AM 22/03/2016, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:
 

Bummer ..... THWARTED.


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers]"
Date:22/03/2016 8:44 AM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet

 

Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
10.2 Ruling
The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not result from a ball being played away from an opponent ball with which it was in contact.
 
Jan Sage
 
From: mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
To: cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
 
 

Hi Alix,
I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....
 
If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?
 
 
Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers]" < cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

 
Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close bbut non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written iin the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothingâ€� or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.â€�
 
Jan Sage
 
From: mailto:cnswplayers@...
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
To: cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 
Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] < cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?

Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Alix Verge
 

Bummer ..... THWARTED.


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers]"
Date:22/03/2016 8:44 AM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet

 

Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
10.2 Ruling
The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not result from a ball being played away from an opponent ball with which it was in contact.
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
 
 

Hi Alix,
I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....
 
If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?
 
 
Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers]" <cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

 
Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 
Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Jan Sage
 

Official Rulings on the 2007 Edition of the WCF Golf Croquet Rules (GCOR2011) January 2011
10.2 Ruling
The exemption under Rule 10(b)(3) does not result from a ball being played away from an opponent ball with which it was in contact.
 
Jan Sage
 

Sent: Tuesday, March 22, 2016 8:31 AM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] touching balls, Golf Croquet
 
 

Hi Alix,
I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....
 
If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?
 
 
Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers]" <cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

 
Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers
 
Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 
Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Brenda <brenda@...>
 

Hi Alix,
I can't see why it would not be legal. Looks like a pretty smart move to me!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 21:57, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario ..... 

If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers]" <cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

 

Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 

Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

touching balls, Golf Croquet

Alix Verge
 

Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario ..... 

If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2 will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop? Has starting in contact fulfilled the requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?


Alix (mob)
0400 825 920

AUSTRALIA: RESETTLING BOAT PEOPLE SINCE 1788


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers]"
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Cc:
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

 

Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 

Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: Golf Croquet

Roberta Flint
 

Ahhh!
Thanks Brenda

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 

Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: Golf Croquet

Brenda <brenda@...>
 

Hi Jan,
Unfortunately, I have found that anyone making such a claim usually does so in a very authoritative manner so it is hard to question it! I will use your tactic in future!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 17:37, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 

Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: : : Golf Croquet

 

That's why GC players get excited when the touching balls are the opponents and the other the stricker said, you can clear the area with a well executed stroke.

Rik

Re: Golf Croquet

Brenda <brenda@...>
 

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of a double tap. If they are touching, it does not matter how they are hit. The situation usually arises when a ball is partway through a hoop and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta roberta_flint@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Why does having the balls touch resolve this?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage' myoora803@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,
 
When people make such a claim – eg limit of turns with close but non-touching balls – I ask them to show me where it is written in the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is not written, it does not apply. Over time I have been confronted by a number of quaint ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch your clothing” or “ the ball may only be placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.”
 
Jan Sage
 
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet
 
 

Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with the non-touching balls so it is good to know the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!
Brenda

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall tony.hall@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 
Dear Brenda,
 
1.  No.
2.  I am not aware of any, except that the games should be competitive, not social.
 
Best Regards,
 
Tony

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans brenda@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

 

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :

1.     In a case where 2 balls are close (in the hoop) but not touching, is there a limit to the number of turns taken until one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2.    Are there any restrictions that apply to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?
Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc

This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.
www.avast.com

Re: : Golf Croquet

Roberta Flint
 

So if they are touching a stroke like a roll in AC means there is no double tap?

Cheers

Roberta

On 21 Mar 2016, at 8:56 pm, amills48@... [cnswplayers] <cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Roberts, 
If the ball are touching the stricker may play a stroke that would run the hoop.