Re: Start of game Wrong Ball problem

Alix Verge

Yes, that sounds good Ron and is probably correct. I thought afterwards of placing anywhere on baulk as penalty for forgetting to play it ..... That said, it is not being replaced but placed. Do you think that renders the clause inapplicable? (Probably not)

Alix (mob)
0400 825 920


-------- Original message --------
From: Ron Humpherson <rafbim@...>
Date: 09/04/2019 3:35 pm (GMT+10:00)
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Start of game Wrong Ball problem

I had also asked Bob Green for his views and he concluded that the Red ball was not a misplaced ball but an outside agency:

Law 6 (c) Ball in Hand
(1) Any ball becomes a ball in hand and an outside agency:
(D) when it must be replaced in order to rectify an error or correct an interference.

Playing of Yellow was therefore a wrong ball play and Red should be placed on a baulk line.

On 2/04/2019 11:07 am, Tim Murphy wrote:
I agree with Alix and Jim.

Which then directs you to 27.f.

On Mon, 1 Apr. 2019, 09:40 Jim Nicholls, <jimbo.croquet@...> wrote:
Agree with Alix.
After Player A incorrectly played Red onto the court, the Red ball should have been removed.
Leaving Red on the lawn at this point is incorrect placement of a ball (and perhaps also Player A mis-leading Player B)

Player B to play Red from a baulk line.

Jim Nicholls

On Sun, 31 Mar 2019 at 21:08, Alix Verge <alixverge@...> wrote:
I think nothing relieves player B of his obligation to play red onto the lawn in the 4th turn rather than striking yellow a second time so yellow to be returned to corner 4 and player B plays red onto the lawn from a baulk line ie the ball he should have played 4th turn. Just roll back to last legal stroke 

Alix (mob)
0400 825 920


-------- Original message --------
From: Ron Humpherson <rafbim@...>
Date: 31/03/2019 8:48 pm (GMT+10:00)
Subject: [cnswplayers] Start of game Wrong Ball problem

At the Mosman AC tournament this weekend I was called to adjudicate on this situation at the start of the game

  1. Player A correctly plays Blue to East boundary
  2. Player B correctly plays Yellow to Corner 4

  3. Player A plays Red to West boundary and measures in

  4. Wrong ball called
  5. Player A places Black on baulk-line in Corner 3 but Red is left in place

  6. Player B shoots Yellow at Red, misses and measures in
  7. Wrong ball called
  8. Referee called
I ruled:
  1. Return Yellow to Corner 3
  2. Remove Red and place anywhere on baulk-lines
  3. Player A to continue
Was this correct? the discussion with other refs here was uncertain.



Join to automatically receive all group messages.