Re: touching balls, Golf Croquet

Tony Hall

Dear Alix,



At 09:57 PM 21/03/2016, alix verge alixverge@... [cnswplayers] wrote:

Hmmm - touching balls - can anyone give me a
definite answer to this rare (but exciting) scenario .....

If my red is jawsed in hoop 1 but yellow (the
striker) is in contact with blue and I do a roll
which sends blue off the court by corner 3 (with
no hope of clearing red) and yellow to hoop 2
will yellow be legal after red runs the hoop?
Has starting in contact fulfilled the
requirement of coming off an opponent's ball?

Alix (mob)
0400 825 920


-------- Original message --------
From: "Roberta roberta_flint@...
[cnswplayers]" <cnswplayers@...>
Date:21/03/2016 9:05 PM (GMT+10:00)
To: cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

Thanks Brenda



On 21 Mar 2016, at 9:00 pm, Brenda
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Roberta,
When the balls are close, there is a danger of
a double tap. If they are touching, it does not
matter how they are hit. The situation usually
arises when a ball is partway through a hoop
and an opponents ball is on the other side ready to knock it out!

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 18:58, Roberta
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Why does having the balls touch resolve this?



On 21 Mar 2016, at 5:37 pm, 'Jan Sage'
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hi Brenda,

When people make such a claim – eg limit of
turns with close bbut non-touching balls – I
ask them to show me where it is written iin
the Rules or Tournament Regulations. If it is
not written, it does not apply. Over time I
have been confronted by a number of quaint
ideas, such as “the mallet must not touch
your clothing� or “ the ball may only be
placed in C4, at the beginning of the game, with your hand.�

Jan Sage

Sent: Monday, March 21, 2016 5:17 PM
To: <mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...
Subject: Re: [cnswplayers] Golf Croquet

Thanks, Tony.
A few people have said there is a limit with
the non-touching balls so it is good to know
the right answer!! It can be a very interesting part of the game!

Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 13:39, Tony Hall
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Dear Brenda,

1. No.
2. I am not aware of any, except that the
games should be competitive, not social.

Best Regards,


Sent from my iPad

On 21 Mar 2016, at 11:11 am, Brenda Evans
<<mailto:cnswplayers@...>cnswplayers@...> wrote:

Hello Golf Croquet Players
I have two situations for which I think we need clarification :
1. In a case where 2 balls are close
(in the hoop) but not touching, is there a
limit to the number of turns taken until
one player finally gets the balls to touch and thus resolve the conflict?

2. Are there any restrictions that apply
to the use of handicap cards for time-limited games?

Thank you, in anticipation
Brenda Evans
Golf Croquet Captain
Jamberoo Croquet CLub Inc
This email has been sent from a virus-free computer protected by Avast.

Join to automatically receive all group messages.