Made first satellite contact today

Brian Barney <brian77223@...>

Hello group, My name is Brian Barney. I am a student at Cal Poly Pomona, and Clint gave a satellite presentation for our amateur club last week. I downloaded pocketsat on my palm treo and today I noticed I had an 80 degree overhead pass with the SO-50 (the same satellite that Clint contacted during the presentation)
I waited till it was almost directly overhead and I could hear people clearly. I waited for a break in the conversation and threw out my call sign and location. The other hams said my signal was pretty scratchy but could understand some of it. I was just using a whip antenna. I was already in the process of making a dual band yagi, but I thought I'd try with my $20 whip and FT60.
Thank you Clint for giving the presentation for our school club, I had always wanted to work satellites, but didn't know I had the capability to.

-Brian Barney
KI6KCW

K6LCS <clintbrad4d@...>

Way to go, Brian!

Which Yagi are you building?

I enjoyed your group ... I am getting ready to give the show at the AQMD office tonight at 6. We will try working AO-51 at 5:40pm to the West.

Clint
Sent from Clint's iPod touch

Brian Barney <brian77223@...>

I am planning on trying out the plan for the arrow clone half way down this page http://www.dxzone.com/catalog/Antennas/Satellite/
I think I'll wait on getting a diplexer, so I'll use 2 seperate cables for 2m and 70cm. Plus I like to do a little RDF and I dont have a 2m yagi yet so it can serve a dual purpose.
I want to try and make it pretty lightweight so I am looking at hollow aluminum elements and a wooden boom.
If anybody has ideas or information on their own satellite antennas, I would love to take a look.
I also am reading up about packet radio and I'd like to try to send some messages to the ISS at some point.

-Brian Barney
KI6KCW

--- On Wed, 3/3/10, K6LCS <clintbrad4d@earthlink.net> wrote:

Subject: [Work-Sat] Re: Made first satellite contact today