programming the ft-60r

Lewis <ve3kko@...>

Hi,
I am new to satellite tracking and i have questions.
I just purchased a new FT-60R and i "think" i have it programmed to work the AO-51 satellite.
Should the radio display change frequency as i go from tx to rx?
Thanks
Best regards
Lewis
ve3kko

Clint Bradford <clintbrad4d@...>

Do the "+" and "-" appear in the display when receiving?

I am not home ... I'll put one of my FT-60R units in FREQ mode, and see what it does later tonight!

Clint Bradford

----------------------------------
Clint Bradford, K6LCS
http://www.clintbradford.com

ve3kko@...

Hi Clint,
yes they do.
When i key up, the display doesnt change.
Thanks
Lewis

Clint Bradford writes:

Do the "+" and "-" appear in the display when receiving? I am not home ... I'll put one of my FT-60R units in FREQ mode, and see what it does later tonight! Clint Bradford ----------------------------------
Clint Bradford, K6LCS
http://www.clintbradford.com

K6LCS <clintbrad4d@...>

Sorry for the delay in replying ... a simple, should-have-been two-hour brake job on my wife's car turned into an 8+ hour comedy of errors ...

OK - When I key my FT-60R's mic on my split freq channels in Freq Display mode, the display DOES change from showing the downlink 440 freq to the 2M uplink freq.

I believe this would be the same behavior on the European FT-60E.

Do you have a second HT or scanner that you can set up to receive - and check to see if your radio is behaving correctly?

Clint

ve3kko@...

Hi Clint,
Thank you for answering.
I know all to well about automotive delays, no problem.
You did answer my question though.
I tried again and i got it!
Funny, i thought that working the satellites involved ssb
rather than fm.

Thanks Clint.
Lewis
ve3kko

K6LCS writes: