Pease help diagnosing my 2235

lagunablue94c

Hello everyone,
First off I'd like to thank you for having a group like this who might help a poor chump like me. 
I'm an electronics novice trying to learn more so I bought a 2235 for $70 with the understanding that one channel works.  Well, upon initial startup only one trace showed up.  After making some quick adjustments I was delighted to find traces for both channels.  Unfortunately after further investigation it seems neither channel works correctly.
I've searched through the Textronics troubleshooting manual, service manual, operators manual and schematic trying to understand my problems but I'm not knowledgeable enough to make a diagnosis.  I'm hoping someone here could give me a little insight so here's what's wrong:
  1. Intensity knob only adjusts from bright to really bright
  2. Vertical line on left hand side of screen
  3. Line running through waveform - looks like the electron gun moving to start position
  4. Waveform is noisy
  5. When measuring a low voltage signal, the signal is added to a phantom 24v sine wave
  6. Delay trace shows up as a vertical line on the left side of the screen
Here of some pictures of this scope in action:
From tektronix">pic1
Both channels measuring 500mA internal reference signal.  Seems ok.

From tektronix">pic2
120vac signal. Note vertical line on left side & lighter line running through middle of trace.

From tektronix">pic3
Other end of 120vac signal.  Note light horizontal line coming from end of trace.

From tektronix">pic4
Upper trace is the line-in to an audio amplifier.  Lower trace is the amplified output.  It's difficult to see it here, but the real signal is added to a 24v sine wave.

From tektronix">pic5
Lower trace is measuring the 500mA internal reference signal.  Vertical line in upper left corner is the delay trace.