2N2207 replacement in 547.

rbmerckx@...

Hi folks, first time posting here. I am a clinical biologist, not an electronics nor scope expert. My hobbies are mainly soccer and Arduino , and on the software side of the latter. I recently got my hands on a package deal of 4 scopes..2 x 547 , 1 scope mobile, a 475 and a TDS 320 with cart ..all for 200..I couldn't resist. Was told all were working...turned out only the TDS 320 was. Managed to get one working 547 out of the 2 by swapping a few broken tubes and failed transistors and repairing knobs/dials, cleaning....( and hours of reading thru articles in this group and online in general). Now I would like to get the second one working. For qualitative measurements, not quantitative. I do not plan on going thru the whole calibration etc.. The working one already has a place into my 60's modern look living room interior because I find the combo scope + 202 model c cart a marvel of industrial design and engineering. I guess we could argue about the scope shape design itself as not being as elegant as the cart :)
The "working" 547 : serial 13996 works great.. but only for 20 minutes...waveform starts to fade ( not really "blooming" , trace remains very sharp..just looses intensity) and disappears all together. I can make it work for 10 minutes longer if from start up I keep trace intensity low. When measuring the voltage as per manual at pin 8 of V800 it starts off at 90 V...it slowly creeps up to 109.5 V and remains there. Pin 2 at V814 measures 161.3 volt. Is this for sure an HV transformer issue ? I am asking because according to a video from Lazyelectrons, that rising voltage symptom on pin 8 can also be due to other parts going bad in the CRT circuitry ( his words..not mine..lol)