152-0310-00 replacement

SR77

Hello everyone. I’m new to electronics. I’m fascinated and overwhelmed with the subject and hoping that I can fit all this information in my brain! I always wanted a Tek scope and I bought a 454 that seems to run ok with nothing more than a quick signal generator test. I’d love to preserve this for as long as possible and restore it but I have a new fear of eventually replacing a tunnel diode. The manual says “part #152-0310-00 similar to 1N3758.” NTE claims that the NTE5804 is a replacement for the 1N3758. Is it? Will it work? If that’s my only option, what would be different? Thanks in advance for any help offered.

David DiGiacomo

On Mon, Mar 4, 2019 at 6:13 PM Sal_rosselli via Groups.Io
<Sal_rosselli=yahoo.ca@groups.io> wrote:

Hello everyone. I’m new to electronics. I’m fascinated and overwhelmed with the subject and hoping that I can fit all this information in my brain! I always wanted a Tek scope and I bought a 454 that seems to run ok with nothing more than a quick signal generator test. I’d love to preserve this for as long as possible and restore it but I have a new fear of eventually replacing a tunnel diode. The manual says “part #152-0310-00 similar to 1N3758.” NTE claims that the NTE5804 is a replacement for the 1N3758. Is it? Will it work? If that’s my only option, what would be different? Thanks in advance for any help offered.
That is not a high failure rate part. I wouldn't worry about it.

Fred Schumacher

As a owner of a 454, and having the B timebase not working, I am doing measurements around the tunneldiode you mentioned. Before taking out this diode to measure its proper functioning, I havo to be sure this diode is the culprit of my problem.
The service manual of this oscilliscope mention the 1N3758 as a replacement for this diode. But this is wrong. This diode is an ordinary diode and not a tunneldiode. This should be the 1N3717.