Topics

Did Tek produce a "normal" d.c. to 50 GHz scope that one could easily poke around with ? { vs. the 11801 / 11802/ 11803, CSA 803 series }

garp66

Edited

Did Tektronix make a 50 GHz GHz scope ??

I was looking for an older Tek GHz scope (hopefully inexpensive) to aid in design & testing of GHz pre-amps & LO's for amateur radio-astronomy. Some designs are up as high as 50 GHz, and a few down at 1.42 & 10 GHz.

I had thought that I might be able to use, (and did acquire, to repair) the 11801a & some SD-24 & SD-3x modules.
But, I have no experience with the 11801a, *yet* ...

{ Are there any GHz measurement 1180x Tek scope mentors on this forum, please ? }.

-- However, the 11801a scope *seems* too delicate { ESD damage prone, restricted signals & odd external triggering requirements } for my general poking around at these frequencies with GHz Rx & LO test set-ups ... { ? }

I do have an HP 70K / HP 70000 MMS SA + signal generator system (very happy with it) that can take me up to 40GHz, but am looking for a reasonably robust, older, inexpensive "normal" 40 to 60 GHz scope to compliment measurements in design/testing.

thank you,

Leo Bodnar

Yes, they do - https://www.tek.com/oscilloscope/dpo70000sx

CSA803/1180x are not "normal" scopes - they are sampling scopes and have a lot of limitations.
They only work on single volt, repetitive, low impedance signals with externally supplied trigger. Their user interface was considered mind-blowing for 1980's but is just a semi-random set of eclectic gimmicky counter-intuitive features.
Their vertical resolution is 8 bit and sampling jitter a few ps - I can't see it being useful for any good quality analogue work apart from checking that the signal "is there."
But if you know what you are getting into you should be able to eBuy CSA803 or 1180x and SD-26 20GHz head for around $500 if you don't rush.
This will get you started.
Don't get SD-30 or SD-32 from the outset.