2710 mpu lockup on start. Help!!

Rodric@...

Hello good ol' Tek guys.

You will please pardon me since this is my first attempt at obtaining help on a group, but here goes:

I'm a 70yr old two-way bench tech, started in the tube/vibrator/dynamotor PS era; Motorola and GE. Component level repair. But! all analog. (hey, I was pretty futzed when transistors started to infiltrate!) I'm very weak in digital systems.

For fun I bought a 2710 SA for repair. The seller claimed FP switches were responsive, just no display. Tube problem! ?
When I got it it was as adv, very clean. On power up, fan running, LEDs on, buttons seemed to do something. So I looked at the crt, and found damaged pins and connector on the CRT, repaired, got flash on power up, and a stationary dot! Cool! now I needed to trub. the sweep ckts, found someone had removed the U911 switch that alternates log/dig info to the display. Found replacement on Mouser, installed, got sweep! Spectrumish, but no digital stuff: no menus, measurements, couldn't tell much about where I was in system. Cool again, now I'm squirming in my chair with delight. Fed the box a 25MHZ sig and got something like a freq domain display , but all kinds of messed up. front panel did change things.
Time to look at the PS voltages/ripple. Found and set voltages (10, -11, 5, -115) and VIOLA! she popped to life! The dig portion of the display was alive, The FP was responsive, I could set things like Start and stop freq span, the cursor dot moved via the freq/marker knob OHBoy! I'm a freekin genius! Life!

The first LO YIG (didn't have a clue at all about that little ball until now) started talking at that same time: a kind of irritating mid-range buzz. I don't know if that's normal, totally ignorant about these devices, and nowhere on the net can I find any reference to YIG noise (acoustic not electrical), so let me know about that, please.

THE PROBLEMS: