547 scope HV transformer problem. One practical solution.

Hi, I am a retired electrical engineer having designed electronic equipment for measurements in oil wells for over 30 years.

About 40 years ago I picked up a 547 scope with an 1A1 plug in left as surplus by my employer. It went into my garage, and it was never powered up. After some decades, I developed a fear of powering it up, concerned over the degradation of the large electrolytic capacitors in its voltage supplies. A few weeks ago I needed an oscilloscope to troubleshoot an old record player, and I decided to bring this ancient oscilloscope back to life.

I disconnected all the big capacitors and over hours raised their voltage with an external supply while monitoring leakage current. All of them got restored! I did some general inspection and studied the schematics of all the functional blocks. I removed the timer tube and powered up just the filaments to check on the tubes. All lighted up. I reconnected the capacitors and the timer tube, and removed the oscillator tube of the CRT supply. While monitoring the regulated supplies I brought up the power with a variac. They came up fine within specs, no smoke. I was able to activate the sweep generators and see the flashing on the neon beam position indicators.

Then I placed back the 6AU5 tube of the HV oscillator, powered up, and to my amazement I saw come on that beautiful sharp bright trace on the CRT. Overcome with emotion, tears rolled down my cheeks and I started playing with the controls using the calibration signal. The oscilloscope was basically WORKING! After 40 years of being dead!