Finding Mains Cord Faults was P6042 -- bad line cord

Brian Symons

I am an electrician by trade & tech but long retired.
I did quite a lot of work for an appliance repair company - mainly vacuum cleaners & cleaning equipment.

Damaged mains cords was a really common problem & some of the items with retractable cords could take a fair bit of disassembling.
The old boss used to cut a short bit off the plug end first if the wiggle & flex test didn't help locate the problem.

I always had my trusted "Volt Stick" - test pencil that indicated mains voltage presence without actual contact.
That worked to show a break in the Active (Hot) conductor but the neutral conductor could be the fault.

I bought a double mains outlet with Double Pole switching that had connecting links between the two outlets & rewired the one side with reverse polarity - ie neutral to the active pin & active to the neutral pin.
I clearly marked the outlet with cross hatching & "Warning - Reverse Polarity"  "Test Only."
I also got another single outlet which was left unwired.

The test outlet & unwired outlet were fixed to the test bench.

The first test was always a good inspection of the item, check the eaarthing if it is an earther housing, & then a physical test of pulling the cord through your fingers to detect any cuts or kinks etc in the flex to ensure that it is safe to handle the flex
Pulling the cord through your fingers is far better than just looking for faults.

By plugging into the normally wired outlet we could test for a broken Active Wire by running the test pencil along the cord.

By Plugging into the reverse polarity outlet the neutral was now live (hot) so the test pencil would locate a break in the Neutral Wire.