Re: My 2465B has arrived + A5 Board leaky caps cleanup

tekscopegroup@...

On Tue, Oct 30, 2018 at 01:11 PM, Chuck Harris wrote:

For what it's worth, the power cycle counter, and on time counter
are meant to be reset after every calibration. They are there to
let the technician know how long it has really been since the last
calibration... as opposed to whatever the customer says..

They don't mean much to a customer. If you see really low numbers,
it simply means the scope saw little use since its last calibration.

-Chuck Harris
Hi Chuck, this certainly makes a lot of sense. Thanks for clarifying it, never heard this simple and logical explanation from anyone else, other that people being very happy when they see low numbers on those counters on a newly acquired scope. This one does not have any past cal stickers at all, so wonder if it ever was calibrated after being purchased.

Since I am new to this model, I noticed that when pressing any front panel switch, all the other indicators seem to very briefly flash in unison before the requested change is executed. Is this normal? Also, under certain conditions, specially when using the x10 horizontal magnifier and on the lower vertical v/div ranges (10mV and bellow), the traces seem somewhat blurry. But without changing the v/div range they clear up nicely and look very sharp when I engage the 20MHz BW limit, tough. Would this possibly mean HF power supply noise or power line ripple creeping into the circuits? (aging filter caps that need to be replaced?). I have not yet gotten to checking all the power rails at J119, will do so when the Mouser parts order arrives and the cover needs to come off again.