Re: Instruction Manual

Jim_B

Copyright date

Jim B,

On Jun 5, 2020, at 11:08 PM, Andrei <calciu1@...> wrote:

Printing date or copyright date?

Typos are courtesy of autocorrect.

From: SouthBendLathe@groups.io <SouthBendLathe@groups.io> on behalf of Jim_B <jim@...>
Sent: Friday, June 5, 2020 10:55:59 PM
To: SouthBendLathe@groups.io <SouthBendLathe@groups.io>
Subject: Re: [SouthBendLathe] Instruction Manual

Except some versions I posted date to the late 50’s. 

Jim B,

On Jun 5, 2020, at 9:51 PM, Steven H via groups.io <stevesmachining@...> wrote:

Regarding copyright of HTRAL: I am not a lawyer, but I will put in my two cents anyway. 

Reading a history of South Bend found at www.southbendlathe.com it says the the authors of HTRAL are John J. O’Brien and Miles W. O’Brien, two identical twin brothers. According to the history, Miles died in 1936. John died in 1946. 

Now, reading a Wikipedia article entitled “Copyright law of the United States”, the article reads “Copyright protection generally lasts for 70 years after the death of the author”. 

1946 + 70 = 2016, so presumably HTRAL would now be in the ‘public domain’ and no longer under copyright protection.

I have numerous hard copies of HTRAL, so I don’t need any electronic pdf files of same.

Steve Haskell

On Jun 5, 2020, at 6:32 PM, Jim_B <jim@...> wrote:

HTRAL is in the files section. 
Actually it  very early copy. I have several later ones, SB tended to revise this paper frequently,  but have been reticent to post them due to copyright issues. However perhaps the time has come to do so. 

On this group of posts I have received, the following:

Hello,

ra?????????.com wishes to inform you that the following message:

https://groups.io/g/SouthBendLathe/message?id=167082675

is objectionable. They entered the following reason why it should be considered objectionable:

----