TNC-Pi9k6 firmware

KN6FOA

I’ve been trying to compile the TNC-Pi9k6’s firmware now for a few months with no luck.  I am trying to make it so I can attach 3 of them to a single PI.  Would someone be so kind as to compile 3 different versions of the firmware for me so I can flash them and use three TNC-Pi9k6 (Teensy 3.6) and use it with I2C instead?  I really am at wits-end with compiling this and I’m a software engineer.

Mat Murdock

My understanding is I2C is just used for configuring the TNC but not for packet communication.  I think there was a post regarding that a couple of months ago.  If you want to stack multiple TNC-Pi9k6 you will need to grab a raspberry Pi 4 which has 6 UARTS and then connect them to the teensy.  This shouldn't be two hard to do with some jumper wires.

Pi 4 UART Info: https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/uart.md

Mat

John G8BPQ

No, the TNC can use i2c for communication, but you have to configure it in the firmware, you can't change it with pitnc_setparams.

To enable i2c remove HOSTPORT from TeensyConfigPacket.h. You can change the i2c address by changing the #define I2CSLAVEADDR

John

On 06/03/2021 18:42, Mat Murdock wrote:
My understanding is I2C is just used for configuring the TNC but not for packet communication.  I think there was a post regarding that a couple of months ago.  If you want to stack multiple TNC-Pi9k6 you will need to grab a raspberry Pi 4 which has 6 UARTS and then connect them to the teensy.  This shouldn't be two hard to do with some jumper wires.

Mat

Mat Murdock

Ok, happy to be wrong.  Looks like an easy enough change.

Mat

N5XMT

I didn't have to remove HOSTPORT on mine.  I just followed the original instructions to use pitncparams utilities from the old TNC-x website.
Manual showing all of it is here: http://tnc-x.com/TNCPi.pdf
work just fine with the TNC-Pi9k6.  just went downstairs to verify.  Also you'll want i2ckiss as well.  it maps a pseudo com port to the i2c address