Stratum One NTP server using a RPi

w4oa@arrl.net

Edited

Anyone using a RPi with a gps as a NTP server? Should work wonders for FT8, even if is total overkill. :)

I am working on one using an Adafruit gps, got it working today. Will be checking accuracy over the next few days. The biggest hassle so far is the wonky serial port/bluetooth port on the Pi.

Mitch W4OA
ps see photos of my build on a RPi Zero W in Photos, using a usb to ethernet adapter for network access.

Yes, I have been running one for a couple of months. 

I used the Adafruit Ultimate GPS Hat. 

On Mon, Apr 2, 2018, 22:32 w4oa@... <w4oa@...> wrote:
Anyone using a RPi with a gps as a NTP server? Should work wonders for FT8, even if is total overkill. :)

I am working on one using an Adafruit gps, got it working today. Will be checking accuracy over the next few days. The biggest hassle so far is the wonky serial port/bluetooth port on the Pi.

Mitch W4OA

mathison ott

not the least bit over kill. I use a rpi to keep time for all the computers on my network including the computer I use for wsjt-x modes. I use a Utart 3v/5v gps module, with a pps out. The setting up the server wasn't to bad, including compiling the NTPD with the pps support. FYI  I still looked up and used local reference clock at my university and for my geographical region to further reference. No problems in 5 years!!!!

mathison kj6dzb

Tony

Please don't use Stratum 1 servers .... use 2 or greater. Don't add additional strain on the system.

On 04/02/2018 10:31 PM, w4oa@arrl.net wrote:

Max

Could you please clarify your statement here. How is adding a GPS straining anything?

Max KG4PID 

On Tuesday, April 3, 2018, 1:45:41 AM CDT, Tony via Groups.Io <ynotssor@...> wrote:

Please don't use Stratum 1 servers .... use 2 or greater. Don't add
additional strain on the system.

On 04/02/2018 10:31 PM, w4oa@... wrote:
> Anyone using a RPi with a gps as a NTP server? Should work wonders for
> FT8, even if is total overkill. :)
>