Large Scale Wireless DCC Options (was: QSI Status Update)

Kevin Strong

Options in large scale for wireless DCC? There are more now than there have ever been. I’ve been doing battery R/C in large scale for 30+ years, and I’m a kid in a candy store with what’s available now!

Receivers…

Tam Valley Depot – 3 amps continuous, 5 amps peak. I know you said you use these and find them unsatisfactory. The “channel 16” thing I understand. It is a limitation in your situation, but also an advantage in certain instances, as you do not need to give the receiver a specific DCC address as you do the Airwire Convertr. (Gilbert, what’s limiting you to 40 scale mph in your installation? I’ve used them pretty much exclusively for the past three years, and have had no issues related to power.) The receiver is limited to 18 volts in, so that could potentially limit your top-end speed depending on how the loco is geared. However, you can pair Tam Valley Depot’s small receiver with their separate 3-amp booster, which can handle in excess of 24 volts. The voltage input to the small receiver is limited to 18 volts, but that’s easily handled with a voltage regulator between the battery and receiver.

Airwire Convertr – Airwire just released a new 6 amp continuous version of their Convertr receiver. If you’re having power issues with the TVD receiver, use this instead. It has a peak capacity of something ridiculous like 55 amps. They’ve also got their 2.5 amp continuous receiver (suitable for small locos like 0-4-0s, 0-6-0s, etc.) and a 1.5 amp version for small critters and the like.

Airwire G3 and plug-in receivers. These are certainly an option if you don’t want sound, as they combine the receiver, motor, smoke, and light control in one board for about the same price as a Convertr. If you’ve got a Phoenix sound board lying around, they’re easily paired for realistic sound, though you do not get the benefits of BEMF response as you do with today’s modern motor/sound DCC decoders.