Paddle Type for QCX mini #40m

Caleb KO4UDX

Good afternoon everyone. I’m Caleb and I’m completely new to all of this radio stuff. I’ve bought and mostly assembled the QCX mini except for the final tuning. My question though is what kind of key/ paddle can I use. Will it work with a single key?  Im trying to learn about all this stuff and want to order the right type the first time.  I’m trying to not use a lambic keyer for my first learning experience. The two links below are ones that I think would be good for me but I’m open to suggestions. Thank you. 

https://www.americanmorse.com/bushwacker.htm

https://www.americanmorse.com/lowboy.htm

N3MNT

The type of  key most hams use is based on preference.  You will get many answers, but I suggest you try a few ( at a friends) and find what you like and stick with that style.  When you decide.  Look at EA3PP website.  He has some excellent keys at very reasonable prices,  You may have to wait a few weeks, but it will be worth it.  In the mean time most hams have a closet full of keys so try to borrow one.

Hi Caleb,
As a learner myself (in my case, an older one), still having trouble with CW, I would advise you that learning to read/copy CW is a completely different - and, surprisingly perhaps,  typically much harder - process to learning to send. I would therefore encourage you to use the built-in Iambic key and and a dual paddle key, precisely  because you will learn proper cadence by doing so. You can then learn to master the straight key once you know what it should sound like.