Qcx keyer erratic

Jim Painter

Playing with the qcx 20m in the arrl contest. Keyer is intermittently adding dits and dahs. My first thought was the key adjustment or just my fist, although I usually don’t have a problem. Tried key on a different rig. Key works fine. I tried fiddling with all the adjustment in the qcx. No good. When I send a 6, it likes to add an extra dah. Even though i’m sure my finger is off the dah paddle. It likes to add an extra dit when I sen 3.

Is anyone else having these problems?

Jim....KQ3S

Jim,
I had that problem when I first got my QCX and I started learning to use a twin paddle and Iambic mode B. You're clearly a far more experienced operator than I am, but this may be something to think about:

If you're using an Iambic mode, make sure you don't have auto space on; that might mess up your timing if you're not expecting it. It "saves" what it identifies as an early key press until the required space is done, then fires the key. If you've already released it you will get a phantom dit or dah, depending on what was pressed when the forced delay triggered.

--
Julian, N4JO.

GD

Your keying is fine but the extra character insertion is a typical iambic B mode result  using a squeeze keyer hence using iambic mode A eleviates the brain problem when at speed.

G4CAO 73 Gf

Peter GM0EUL