QCX 5W CW Transciever kit: Transformer dilemma

joseph.corbin@...

Hello!

I am a student who is working on putting together this kit as part of a project for my Digital Signal Processing course. I've reached step 3.56, which requires that I wind and install a transformer (T1). Because I have the 40m band, I need a total of 53 turns (Three sets of 5 turns each and 1 set of 38 turns). After having completed the winding, I've noticed several small kinks in the wire. I know that the kinks are going to affect the transformer, but my question is whether the kinks will have a negligible impact or not. In other words, should I redo the entire winding or do you think that I'll be okay with the installation?

Thank you!

Alan G4ZFQ

After having completed the winding, I've noticed several small kinks in the wire. I know that the kinks are going to affect the transformer, but my question is whether the kinks will have a negligible impact or not. In other words, should I redo the entire winding or do you think that I'll be okay with the installation?
Joseph,

As long as you are not worried by the appearance then leave it.
Perhaps make it look better one day, but performance will not be affected.

Alan

ajparent1/KB1GMX

No Issue.  Unless the wire breaks.  That should not be an issue once in place.

To lock the wire in place a drop of superglue will do that fine.

Allison

joseph.corbin@...

Alan,

Thank you! I'll be sure to make it look better one day. For now, I'll go ahead and install it and let you know how it goes.

--

Joseph Corbin

President of the Engineering Club
Ottawa University
Ottawa, KS

joseph.corbin@...

Allison,

Excellent! Thank you for the response and the helpful tip!
--

Joseph Corbin

Ottawa University
Ottawa, KS

Jim Manley

Hi Joseph,