Re: IRF510 #alignment

Tisha Hayes

A suggestion on bad components removal from a circuit board. Unless you feel compelled to completely salvage the old part, cut the leads off the part and physically remove it first.

Then, apply a few drops of liquid rosin and use a hot soldering iron to melt the joint and lift the stub of the component lead out with the side of the soldering iron. If it resists then while the joint is molten, bang it gently on the table and the lead will fall out the bottom of the hole.

You can do this if you do not have a desoldering station that applies suction to remove the solder. Also, you are not digging around on the soldering pad or trace that can cause it to disbond from the fiberglass on the board.

I worked as a bench tech for a few years in college, doing component level replacement on high density circuit boards covered with DIP chip packages. I literally removed thousands of IC's, resistors, caps, transistors, connectors, from circuit boards. The times where I lifted a pad or tore off a trace I could count with the fingers on one hand. You just get very good at doing it, you can work fast and there is no stress when confronting removing lots of parts. (some of the things we had in for repair had been damaged by lightning and sometimes yI had to replace ten or fifteen DIP 16 and DIP 40 chips on one board (the boards had 80-200 chips on them)).

-------------------------------------------