Re: Balloon breaking previous records U3B-25

Joe Street

Well thank you Halden for your perspective and I'm glad I'm not alone.  I do feel both sides of the issue believe me.  I am as much a technogeek as a lover of our surroundings.  I am not surprised that the discussion turns so quickly to a rationale for what is being done, afterall there has been a rational for most of what we have done before, good and bad in this world.  The idea of simply dividing the size of the balloon into the size of the earth doesn't really wash with me, just ask anyone who has done much climbing about how often they find litter in the high places (and I'm not talking about spent cylinders and gear that spoiled rich people neglect to pack out) and you may be surprised.  The high places seem to rake the atmosphere for whatever is borne aloft. I guess I feel strongly about it because the high country is kind of sacred to me.  Being a glider pilot I have seen all manner of things flying in thermals but never a weather or amateur balloon.  Myself I couldn't come up with any rationale for engaging in this aspect of our hobby but then again I wouldn't throw a message in a bottle into the sea or float a truckload of rubber ducks down a river but my personal balance point between being the information seeker and being the nature lover I can't impose on others.  I only wanted to make a suggestion to consider another perspective.

Best regards
Joe ve3vxo

On Mon, Mar 25, 2019 at 8:23 PM HF via Groups.Io <incorridge=yahoo.com@groups.io> wrote:

Hi Joe and others

I am pleased to read that other hams are concerned, as I am, about the garbage problem to which disposable radio balloons contribute.  Thank you, Joe, for raising the issue.