Re: Excellent presentation on Class E Amplifiers and why the QCX finals sometimes can get fried

Hans Summers

Hi all

I am not an electronics engineer. All is self-taught. I studied physics and my former career was 22 years in bank IT (software). I know there are some "proper" engineers here, I am just a guy who loves electronics and radio and muddles along as best I can, and somehow tries to get somewhere and after a lot of blood, sweat and tears, eventually manages something at least. 

Now for Class-E... over the years I have made several attempts at it. I studied the maths. I tried the spreadsheet models. I tried building published designs. I never was successful. I just could never measure the high efficiency Class-E is supposed to give, and of course that was also verified by the temperature of my transistors. 

When developing QCX I decided for the sake of low cost (no need for a heatsink, and no need for big beefy power transistors) I had better try one more time. I developed what I now call "ghetto" Class-E because it is such a simplified method of choosing the components... yet, it does seem to work very well... 

This is a short extract from some text I wrote on the topic of Class-E for part of my presentation next month at Dayton FDIM:

"Some excellent background reading are two papers by Paul Harden NA5N:

Paul NA5N describes two defining features of Class-E:

1) Use of a square-wave drive to reduce switching losses: the transistors are either on, or off… no lossy region in between
2) Reducing the effects of the transistor capacitances. Class-E has a resonant tuned circuit. The capacitance of the transistors, normally an unpleasant lossy aspect, is now a part of the tuned circuit.