Great software, but I have a question

Joseph Miller

Hello Scott,

I have been using your software since about 2008, and I will admit, underutilizing it... After a little time well spent with your website, and my Icom 7410 manual,, and a couple of false starts, I finally figured out the rig interface. It works like a charm, I am very pleased.

Now to get ready for Sweepstakes, and this is the voice of someone who can forget to change bands when entering QSOs into the Contest Logger, I see I have to enter the settings in that software also. No problem.

The only problem anywhere that I see is that I will not be able to operate ACLog and Sweepstakes at the same time on the same computer, as there will be a Comport setting issue. I ask this because if I hear a special event station during the contest, sometimes I will take a break, make contact, and go back to the contest.

If there is no easy answer, that's fine. Just wanted to express my gratitude for the effort that you put into your software.

vy 73 es gud luck,
Joe KJ8O (now in Southern California)

--
***  Avoid internet congestion, real radio uses airwaves.  ***

Joe Miller, KJ8O
Desert Hot Springs, CA
Locator DM13sw

Scott Thayer <w7sot700@...>

This might help you - I know all about the comm port issues, I also run Win4Icom with my radio, and also use com0com to make virtual comm ports, which get put into win4icom - I am sure there is going to be a way to use virtual comm ports to make everything work together - and may even be a free solution https://sourceforge.net/projects/com0com/, I have 8 virtual comm ports, which allows me to have all my apps all up and working and full cat control over the radio, in whatever app I happen to be in - works like a charm.

Let me know if you need any more info.

Scott, W7SOT

On Wed, Nov 18, 2020 at 6:08 PM Joseph Miller <kj8o.ham@...> wrote:
Hello Scott,