MRTG


Vincenzo Mone
 

Hello,

Please apologize if I am posting on a wrong place.

I would like to know how to install and set MRTG.

Thanks

 

 

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520





      *********************************

      ******   GSM  +39 328 7110193  ******

      *****     SMS  +39 328 7110193    *****

      *********************************

 


David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 12/09/2021 20:06, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Hello,
Please apologize if I am posting on a wrong place.
I would like to know how to install and set MRTG.
Thanks
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Have you tried Google?

https://www.google.com/search?q=how+to+install+MRTG+windows

You get many answers including:

https://tweenpath.net/the-mrtg-2162-windows-installation-guide/

and my own use is noted here:

https://www.satsignal.eu/mrtg/performance_howto.php

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Hello David and all,
I have tried to follow the instructions on the web site:

https://oss.oetiker.ch/mrtg/doc/mrtg-nt-guide.en.html

but when I run the command:

Perl mrtg mrtg.cfg

I get in the Dos window the following errors:

Daemonizing MRTG ...
Do Not close this window. Or MRTG will die
2021-09-13 18:47:01, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup could not read the primary log file for 192.168.10.99_1
2021-09-13 18:47:01, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup The backup log file for 192.168.10.99_1 was invalid as well
2021-09-13 18:47:01, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't remove 192.168.10.99_1.old updating log file
2021-09-13 18:47:01, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't rename 192.168.10.99_1.log to 192.168.10.99_1.old updating log file
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
2021-09-13 18:47:21, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup could not read the primary log file for 192.168.10.99_2
2021-09-13 18:47:21, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup The backup log file for 192.168.10.99_2 was invalid as well
2021-09-13 18:47:21, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't remove 192.168.10.99_2.old updating log file
2021-09-13 18:47:21, Rateup WARNING: F:/MRTG-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't rename 192.168.10.99_2.log to 192.168.10.99_2.old updating log file

Please how to correct it?
What have I done wrong?
Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: lunedì 13 settembre 2021 06:20
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 12/09/2021 20:06, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Hello,

Please apologize if I am posting on a wrong place.

I would like to know how to install and set MRTG.

Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Have you tried Google?

https://www.google.com/search?q=how+to+install+MRTG+windows

You get many answers including:

https://tweenpath.net/the-mrtg-2162-windows-installation-guide/

and my own use is noted here:

https://www.satsignal.eu/mrtg/performance_howto.php

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 13/09/2021 17:52, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
What have I done wrong?
Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Nothing. It happens when the program is started for the very first time. I
haven't looked at the errors in details, though.

David
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Apologize David,
but I get the error every time I run the command
and not just the very first time.
Please any advice?
Thanks


73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: lunedì 13 settembre 2021 20:01
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 13/09/2021 17:52, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
What have I done wrong?
Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Nothing. It happens when the program is started for the very first time. I
haven't looked at the errors in details, though.

David
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 13/09/2021 19:25, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Apologize David,
but I get the error every time I run the command
and not just the very first time.
Please any advice?
Thanks
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Does the LogDir file directory you specified exist? You may have to create it yourself. Same applies to the HTML and Image directories. I mean the ones here at the start of the configuration file:

LogDir: F:/Tools/MRTG/logs/
HtmlDir: F:/Tools/MRTG/www
ImageDir: F:/Tools/MRTG/www

F:/Tools/MRTG is where I collect the results - yours will be different, of course.

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Hallo David,
Thanks for Your patience .
Sorry but I still cannot get it working properly. I cannot understand if I need to specify when I go to create the mrtg.cfg file 192.168.10.150 or 192.168.10.99
What I have done is:
Downloaded and installed in F: ActivePerl.
Downloaded Mrtg-2.17.8 and unzipped I F:\Mrtg
Opened the Prompt command and gave the commands:
F:
cd mrtg
cd mrtg-2.17.8
cd bin
perl cfgmaker public@192.168.10.99 --global "WorkDir: f:\www" --output mrtg.cfg
I get the cfg.
I go to run perl mrtg mrtg.cfg and get:

2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup could not read the primary log file for 192.168.10.99_1
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup The backup log file for 192.168.10.99_1 was invalid as well
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't remove 192.168.10.99_1.old updating log file
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't rename 192.168.10.99_1.log to 192.168.10.99_1.old updating log file
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup could not read the primary log file for 192.168.10.99_2
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup The backup log file for 192.168.10.99_2 was invalid as well
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't remove 192.168.10.99_2.old updating log file
2021-09-14 15:39:07, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't rename 192.168.10.99_2.log to 192.168.10.99_2.old updating log file

Actually I have in F:
A folder called mrtg and inside a folder called mrtg-2.17.8 with the mrtg files.
A folder called www with inside the following files:

192.168.10.99_1.html
192.168.10.99_1.log
192.168.10.99_1-day.png
192.168.10.99_1-month.png
192.168.10.99_1-week.png
192.168.10.99_1-year.png
192.168.10.99_2.html
192.168.10.99_2.log
192.168.10.99_2-day.png
192.168.10.99_2-month.png
192.168.10.99_2-week.png
192.168.10.99_2-year.png
mrtg-l.png
mrtg-m.png
mrtg-r.png

If I try to click on the HTML file I get the HTML file
I get the Analysis page and can read:

System: in
Maintainer:
Description: Traffic
ifType: ethernetCsmacd (6)
ifName: No Name
Max Speed: 12.5 MBytes/s
Ip: No Ip (No DNS name)

But the IN and OUT under MAX AVERAGE and Current shows both 0.0 B/s (0.0%)
Please any advices?
Thanks


73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: martedì 14 settembre 2021 06:09
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 13/09/2021 19:25, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Apologize David,
but I get the error every time I run the command and not just the very
first time.
Please any advice?
Thanks


73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Does the LogDir file directory you specified exist? You may have to create it
yourself. Same applies to the HTML and Image directories. I mean the ones
here at the start of the configuration file:

LogDir: F:/Tools/MRTG/logs/
HtmlDir: F:/Tools/MRTG/www
ImageDir: F:/Tools/MRTG/www

F:/Tools/MRTG is where I collect the results - yours will be different, of
course.

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 14/09/2021 14:52, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
But the IN and OUT under MAX AVERAGE and Current shows both 0.0 B/s (0.0%)
Please any advices?
Thanks
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Ah, that sounds like SNMP isn't installed. There is a note here:

https://blog.paessler.com/how-to-enable-snmp-on-your-operating-system

Note that it's different for Windows 10. Under "Security" add a user name "public" (must be all lower case) and check: "Accept SNMP Packets from any host". I have information here:

https://www.satsignal.eu/software/Win-10-notes.html

but that dates back to the start of Windows-10. The missing SNMP is noted here:

https://www.satsignal.eu/software/Win-10-notes.html#1809

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

No David,
SNMP is installed.
but I always get the error:

Daemonizing MRTG ...
Do Not close this window. Or MRTG will die
2021-09-14 18:22:17, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup could not read the primary log file for 192.168.10.99_1
2021-09-14 18:22:17, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup The backup log file for 192.168.10.99_1 was invalid as well
2021-09-14 18:22:17, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't remove 192.168.10.99_1.old updating log file
2021-09-14 18:22:17, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't rename 192.168.10.99_1.log to 192.168.10.99_1.old updating log file
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
2021-09-14 18:22:37, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup could not read the primary log file for 192.168.10.99_2
2021-09-14 18:22:37, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup The backup log file for 192.168.10.99_2 was invalid as well
2021-09-14 18:22:37, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't remove 192.168.10.99_2.old updating log file
2021-09-14 18:22:37, Rateup WARNING: F:/mrtg/mrtg-2.17.8/bin\rateup Can't rename 192.168.10.99_2.log to 192.168.10.99_2.old updating log file

From when I sent you the previous email I left the PC running and when back I saw that in the HTML file
The values of the Daily Graph (5 Minute Average) changed.
Now I have

the Max In: 708.0 B/s (0,0%) and the Out: 6300.5 kB/s (50.4%)
the Average In: 642.0 B/s (0,0%) and the Out: 5160.7 kB/s (41.3%)
the Current In: 658.0 B/s (0,0%) and the Out: 4689.5 kB/s (37.5%)

But still cannot get the errors free.
I mean every time I give the start command I get the above errors.
Any help please???

Also please David how to make a file to start the MRTG automatically at the PC power Up?
I mean what to write in the file as I have tried in several modes but I get always wrong command.
Thanks a lot.

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: martedì 14 settembre 2021 16:32
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 14/09/2021 14:52, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
But the IN and OUT under MAX AVERAGE and Current shows both 0.0 B/s
(0.0%) Please any advices?
Thanks


73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Ah, that sounds like SNMP isn't installed. There is a note here:

https://blog.paessler.com/how-to-enable-snmp-on-your-operating-
system

Note that it's different for Windows 10. Under "Security" add a user name
"public" (must be all lower case) and check: "Accept SNMP Packets from any
host". I have information here:

https://www.satsignal.eu/software/Win-10-notes.html

but that dates back to the start of Windows-10. The missing SNMP is noted
here:

https://www.satsignal.eu/software/Win-10-notes.html#1809

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 14/09/2021 17:38, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
But still cannot get the errors free.
I mean every time I give the start command I get the above errors.
Any help please???
Also please David how to make a file to start the MRTG automatically at the PC power Up?
I mean what to write in the file as I have tried in several modes but I get always wrong command.
Thanks a lot.
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Enzo,

First approach would be to monitor the results, and if they look correct, ignore the error. I note that you are now getting non-zero values, so you must have changed something.

To start automatically, you can use any of the usual methods, but I like to put a link on the Program, Start-up menu pointing to the command script used to start MRTG.

My file is like:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
timeout 4

start "Run MRTG" /D C:\Tools\MRTG\bin perl mrtg mrtg-penguin.cfg

EXIT
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Thanks David,
the MRTG start up command worked for me. I have used the wperl instead of just the Perl command
as I get always the Dos window with the errors:

Daemonizing MRTG ...
Do Not close this window. Or MRTG will die
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.


Just a curiosity, I have seen that everyone has the bargraph all green while my one shows just a blue line.
Is it normal or I still need to do some settings?
Thanks


73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: martedì 14 settembre 2021 20:21
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 14/09/2021 17:38, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
But still cannot get the errors free.
I mean every time I give the start command I get the above errors.
Any help please???

Also please David how to make a file to start the MRTG automatically at the
PC power Up?
I mean what to write in the file as I have tried in several modes but I get
always wrong command.
Thanks a lot.

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Enzo,

First approach would be to monitor the results, and if they look correct,
ignore the error. I note that you are now getting non-zero values, so you
must have changed something.

To start automatically, you can use any of the usual methods, but I like to put
a link on the Program, Start-up menu pointing to the command script used to
start MRTG.

My file is like:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
timeout 4

start "Run MRTG" /D C:\Tools\MRTG\bin perl mrtg mrtg-penguin.cfg

EXIT
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 15/09/2021 12:40, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Thanks David,
the MRTG start up command worked for me. I have used the wperl instead of just the Perl command
as I get always the Dos window with the errors:
Daemonizing MRTG ...
Do Not close this window. Or MRTG will die
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 12) line 1.
*** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the error above
Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.
Just a curiosity, I have seen that everyone has the bargraph all green while my one shows just a blue line.
Is it normal or I still need to do some settings?
Thanks
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Enzo,

When you reported before you said that all the day graphs had non-zero values underneath the graph. What happened? It will take time to build up all four graphs, of course.

Can you post a screen-shot?

David
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Yes David,

how I said before that, all the day graphs had non-zero  values underneath the graph.

Here is the requested screenshot:

 

 

 

 

Thanks

 

 

 

73 de Enzo IK8OZV

EasyLog 5 BetaTester

EasyLog PDA BetaTester

WinBollet BetaTester

D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania

Skype: ik8ozv8520

 

 

 

 

      *********************************

      ******   GSM  +39 328 7110193  ******

      *****     SMS  +39 328 7110193    *****

      *********************************

 

> -----Messaggio originale-----

> Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor

> GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io

> Inviato: mercoledì 15 settembre 2021 16:48

> A: MSG-1@groups.io

> Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

>

> On 15/09/2021 12:40, Vincenzo Mone wrote:

> > Thanks David,

> > the MRTG start up command worked for me. I have used the wperl instead

> > of just the Perl command as I get always the Dos window with the errors:

> >

> > Daemonizing MRTG ...

> > Do Not close this window. Or MRTG will die

> > Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.

> > *** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the

> > error above Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.

> > Time::HiRes::utime(): unimplemented in this platform at (eval 12) line 1.

> > BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at (eval 12) line 1.

> > *** Restarting after 10 seconds in an attempt to recover from the

> > error above Can't exec "mrtg": No such file or directory at mrtg line 372.

> >

> >

> > Just a curiosity, I have seen that everyone has the bargraph all green while

> my one shows just a blue line.

> > Is it normal or I still need to do some settings?

> > Thanks

> >

> >

> > 73 de Enzo IK8OZV

>

> Enzo,

>

> When you reported before you said that all the day graphs had non-zero

> values underneath the graph.  What happened?  It will take time to build up

> all four graphs, of course.

>

> Can you post a screen-shot?

>

> David

> --

> SatSignal Software - Quality software for you

> Web: https://www.satsignal.eu

> Email: david-taylor@...

> Twitter: @gm8arv

>

>

>

 


David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 15/09/2021 17:04, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Yes David,
how I said before that, all the day graphs had non-zero  values underneath the graph.
Here is the requested screenshot:
Thanks, Enzo. You need the "growright" to make the data read forwards in time from left to right:

Options[<whatever>]: bits, unknaszero, growright

I also suggest plotting in bits, rather than bytes, as almost all networks are specified in bits/second, not in bytes/second.

"growright" is shown in my example....

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Please David,
can you tell me what to do as I did not understand?
Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: mercoledì 15 settembre 2021 19:42
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 15/09/2021 17:04, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Yes David,

how I said before that, all the day graphs had non-zero values
underneath the graph.

Here is the requested screenshot:
Thanks, Enzo. You need the "growright" to make the data read forwards in
time from left to right:

Options[<whatever>]: bits, unknaszero, growright

I also suggest plotting in bits, rather than bytes, as almost all networks are
specified in bits/second, not in bytes/second.

"growright" is shown in my example....

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 15/09/2021 19:07, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Please David,
can you tell me what to do as I did not understand?
Thanks
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Edit the options line in your configuration file.

David
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv


Vincenzo Mone
 

Hello David,
I have edited the cfg files like:

Options[_]: bits

Please Is it correct??
Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
EasyLog 5 BetaTester
EasyLog PDA BetaTester
WinBollet BetaTester
D.C.I. CheckPoint Regione Campania
Skype: ik8ozv8520




*********************************
****** GSM +39 328 7110193 ******
***** SMS +39 328 7110193 *****
*********************************

-----Messaggio originale-----
Da: MSG-1@groups.io <MSG-1@groups.io> Per conto di David J Taylor
GM8ARV ?????????????? ???? via groups.io
Inviato: giovedì 16 settembre 2021 08:13
A: MSG-1@groups.io
Oggetto: Re: [MSG-1] MRTG

On 15/09/2021 19:07, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Please David,
can you tell me what to do as I did not understand?
Thanks

73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Edit the options line in your configuration file.

David
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv



David J Taylor GM8ARV 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 🇪🇺
 

On 16/09/2021 07:31, Vincenzo Mone wrote:
Hello David,
I have edited the cfg files like:
Options[_]: bits
Please Is it correct??
Thanks
73 de Enzo IK8OZV
Enzo,

It's not a question of "correct" or not - it's simply what options you consider appropriate for the data you are plotting. The Options would be different if you were plotting memory usage or CPU temperature. You can have an "options" setting for each set of data you plot. So, for example, if you are plotting the network I/O for an SR1 you might have a section:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
#---------------------------------------------------------------
# SR1 - "Traffic LAN" output
#---------------------------------------------------------------

Target[SR1-Traffic]: 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.1&1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.1:public@192.168.5.55
MaxBytes[SR1-Traffic]: 150000000
Options[SR1-Traffic]: bits, unknaszero, growright, noo
Title[SR1-Traffic]: Ayecka SR1 Traffic LAN
PageTop[SR1-Traffic]: <H1>Ayecka SR1 - Traffic LAN (Edinburgh)</H1>
<TABLE>
<TR><TD>Interface:</TD><TD>Ayecka SR1 Traffic LAN</TD></TR>
<TR><TD>Max Speed:</TD><TD>1 Gbit/s</TD></TR>
</TABLE>

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Note that the "Target" line has split in the example above, and you would need your own SR1 IP address. Note also the blank line after "PageTop" entries. Here the "Options" are:

Options[SR1-Traffic]: bits, unknaszero, growright, noo

Look in the reference manual about these options.

https://oss.oetiker.ch/mrtg/doc/mrtg-reference.en.html

I hope the guide will answer any other questions you will have, together with all the examples I have provided on my Web site.

73,
David GM8ARV
--
SatSignal Software - Quality software for you
Web: https://www.satsignal.eu
Email: david-taylor@blueyonder.co.uk
Twitter: @gm8arv