Truck axlebox tuner - making & using

John Stutz

I have been making and using similar tools for about 30 years now, but using a lathe and mill to do so.

Ric's photo shows a way forward for those of us who do not have lathes. 

Apologies for the length,  This was ment to be short, but is fast approaching book length.  I hope some find it useful.

A brass tool will cut plastic, both Delren and most polymers used in 3-D modeling, with occasional resharpening.  Steel will last longer, but is a little harder to work with.  Use 1/8" stock if you are turning with a Dremel, either Ric's 3/16" or 1/4" stock if turning with a drill.  Cut your piece a little longer than the width over axleboxes, chuck it with a washer to protect the chuck, run at moderate speed, and file your point.

The point angle needs to be a little blunter than the axle points.  For rounded tip axles (Kadee) the tool point needs to be a little blunter than the taper behind the axle point. The idea here is to ensure that the truck rides on the axle's point,without any contact elsewhere.  When filing a point this way, there is a tendency to make it sharper than wanted, because the tip, at zero radius, while rotating is not actually moving. So start with an overly blunt point, stroke the file, and work your way back to the desired angle.  A coarse file can be used initially, but finish up with your finest single-cut file, always using a file handle. It will help if whatever you use to rotate the work is solidly mounted, so you can control the file with both hands.  A heavy drill press is ideal, but I have used a Dremel in their drill press, laid on its side