Managing Attachments, Files and Photos
Part 2: Settings and their Appearance
This page is designed to provide Owners, Moderators and Subscribers (Members) with guidance about what the various users will see when different settings are applied.
Subscribers can view and upload:
The following screenshot is a section of what is seen when a Moderator opens a Files Tab. This is a heavily cropped view to anonymise the group from which the screenshot was taken,
Note that one Folder has been created by a Moderator, and one by a Subscriber. As the above is a Moderators view there is access to the four editing tabs shown in blue to the right of each folder title; from left to right they are Update, Move, Delete and Report.
The next screenshot shows the same Files section when opened by a Subscriber.
Note that while the Subscriber has access to the same New Folder and Upload File tabs, there is no access to the editing tools for the Moderator's Folder, other than Report; the editing tools for the Subscriber's own Folder remain accessible. Subscribers can only edit Folders and Files of their own creation; Moderators have full editing priviledges. The same situation occurs with Files within Folders; Subscribers can only edit material they have uploaded, not that uploaded by others. They can, however, move their Files into a different Folder; while Files have "owners" Folders do not. This can be seen from a real files section (as opposed to screenshots cropped for anonymity).,
Note: If the Storage Allowance for any given group is exceeded the blue Upload File tab will be greyed out.
Subscribers can view, moderators can upload:
With this setting the Moderator's view is the same as shown in Screenshot 1 above.
Subscribers cannot view, Moderators can upload: In this mode the Files and Photos Tabs in the left hand Menu column are removed from Subscribers' web UIs but are visible and active for Moderators. The facilities available to Moderators are the same as for settings described above and will not be repeatedhere.
Files (or Photos) are Disabled: Although Files & Photos being disabled may well not be the norm it is one of the easiest situations to describe. Disabling either feature removes the respective Tab from the Menu down the left hand side of the web UI. Although any content in either archive at the time of disablement becomes inaccessible, it is not deleted and if the feature is later restored the content will once again be accessible.
It is worth noting that attached photos still work correctly even if the Photos section is disabled; a thumbnail appears in the text of the message and when clicked an enlarged version appears as normal. If the photos section is re-enabled the photo concerned will be found in the Emailed Photos Album as expected.
To be continued...