Directory vs the Members List
There are two places with group member names:
- one that has all members (the Members List in the Admin area) and
- the Directory. However, not all members are in the Directory - you can opt out.
The Directory is an index of member profiles.
A Subscriber's profile will be visible in the Directory only if:
-- (s)he creates a Profile and chooses to share it (Subscription->Group Profile->Edit Group Profile->Profile Privacy*), and,
-- group settings under Privacy->Member Directory is set to Subscribers, OR
-- the person viewing the Directory has Owner/Moderator privileges.
The content of a user's profile can be anything they choose to put in it. Group Owners and Moderators cannot edit user profiles.
The Members List is an index of subscriptions.
Its visibility is set by Admin->Settings->Privacy->Members Visible.
Content is restricted by the system to designated fields (email address, display name, join date, mail delivery, etc) that are necessary to perform system functions.
For privacy reasons, the members list will usually be visible only to Owners and Moderators, who can also "click through" each member record to send +owner messages, view activity, save notes about this subscription, or generally manage subscription settings.
If you as an Owner want Subscribers to be able to "see" every other Subscriber in the group without forcing everyone to jump through the profile hoop, you must make the Members List visible. Doing so will not give Subscribers access to the underlying information, however -- only the "stuff" that appears in the main index (Display Name, Message Delivery, Email Address, and Join Date).
*Account and group profiles may also be edited via Account->Identity