Can a premium-group admin change a member's email address to an existing one, i.e do a #mergeaccounts for the member? #mergeaccounts


 

Hi Folks,

Has any of the premium+ admins done this?  What happens in this case, does it tell you no-way or offers to merge the accounts (existing one into the new one) as it happens now when one tries to change/merge their account address themselves?  I suspect it is the latter but I wanted to make sure first, because in the owner's manual section for it,
https://groups.io/helpcenter/ownersmanual/1/managing-members/premium-and-enterprise-member-management-options,
it is a bit ambiguous IMO; it does state that It is functionally equivalent to the member changing the address in their own account which I interpret to mean the same things are shown/asked for and same outcomes happen in both cases.  But in the steps presented below that, it doesn't explicitly state that entering an existing account will ask you about it and initiate a account-merging process if answered Yes (provided that is what happens and not "it just happens right-away without confirmation quietly behind the scenes when one clicks on Save")

In a paid Premium or Enterprise group, owners and moderators can change the email addresses of members who cannot change their addresses themselves for some reason:

  1. Display the membership record of the member whose email address you want to change.
  2. In the Email field at the top of the page, edit the member’s email address.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save.

I have changed a member's address before but it was to a known unique one, and it was a "silent"/seamless change after I clicked Save.  I now have a member who is not savvy enough, with two memberships in the group, and I was wondering if this change capability would work the same way as themselves doing it and it could be used as a way for a (premium+) admin to do a merge-account for the user, in the same way as it can change the site-wide account address right now. 

I mentioned the "silent" part, and when I changed a member's address before for the life of me I can't remember if in that case the user did not get the normal confirmation emails which one gets when they themselves change/merge their account.  So if they really don't get any when a group admin does the change/merge, that fact should be mentioned in the manual section to stress that it "just happens" and to be extremely-careful if they choose to use this merge4U feature as they can mess-up a member's account if not done right.

So I obviously don't want to chance doing it without asking first due to the ambiguities so I'll also suggest in docs that something to be added there in the steps to clarify things after they are clear.

As a related thought-byproduct item to this, I wonder, couldn't a (premium+) admin also help a member (who themselves entered the wrong/typo/etc ChangeTo/Merge address and is now stuck) recover by changing the wrong address back to the correct one through this group "change address" feature?  When a user modifies their account address, it propagates right away down to the groups if I'm correct, albeit showing now as NC until the user clicks on the confirmation email link. (So if yes, I'll suggest in docs to add this option in the corresponding account recovery section)

Cheers,
Christos


Frances
 

On Fri, Jan 1, 2021 at 03:44 PM, Christos G. Psarras wrote:
Has any of the premium+ admins done this?  What happens in this case, does it tell you no-way or offers to merge the accounts (existing one into the new one) as it happens now when one tries to change/merge their account address themselves?  I suspect it is the latter but I wanted to make sure first, because in the owner's manual section for it,

Well, the member's manual says:

 

If you have two (or more) Groups.io accounts, you can merge them into one account so you can access all your groups from one account.
 
! Important: The Groups.io account (or accounts) you want to deactivate and merge into another account should not own any groups. Otherwise, you risk losing ownership of those groups. If you own any groups under an account you want to deactivate, you can designate another owner for those groups and then have that owner change your role in those groups from Owner to Member.
Source:  https://groups.io/helpcenter/membersmanual/1/understanding-groups-io-accounts/merging-accounts?single=true

So it is about multiple accounts within Groups.io, not multiple accounts just within your group. Does this member belong to other groups in Groups.io? Does the member own any? 

Frances

 
--

Help available from Groups.io help and GMF wiki.

 


 



On 2021-01-01 15:49, Frances via groups.io wrote:
So it is about multiple accounts within Groups.io, not multiple accounts just within your group.

Well, not to argue but it doesn't really make a difference; in order to have multiple group accounts you have to have multiple (at least as many) GIO accounts.  Or maybe I misunderstood what you are trying to say


>>> Does this member belong to other groups in Groups.io? Does the member own any?

I haven't asked yet, but I'll make sure; I highly doubt he owns any groups although he could be member of others.  I'll definitely explain to them doing this will also change everything else they belong to, nobody likes (unwanted) surprises!

Cheers,
Christos


Duane
 

On Fri, Jan 1, 2021 at 02:44 PM, Christos G. Psarras wrote:
Has any of the premium+ admins done this?  What happens in this case, does it tell you no-way or offers to merge the accounts
I tried it on my (premium) test group.  It tells you "That address is already registered." and doesn't change anything, so it can't be done with an email address that already has an account.  They'll need to unsubscribe and/or delete one of the accounts for themselves or you could remove one of them on the group.

Duane
--
The official Groups.io user documentation is in the Groups.io Help Center.
GMF's Unofficial Help Wiki: https://groups.io/g/GroupManagersForum/wiki


 

>>> I tried it on my (premium) test group.  It tells you "That address is already registered." and doesn't change anything, so it can't be done with an email address that already has an account.  They'll need to unsubscribe and/or delete one of the accounts for themselves or you could remove one of them on the group. <<<


Duane, thanks for trying it out; yeah, I'll post a docs topic to clarify that owner manual section.

Also answered my own musing,

>>> As a related thought-byproduct item to this, I wonder, couldn't a (premium+) admin also help a member (who themselves entered the wrong/typo/etc ChangeTo/Merge address and is now stuck) recover by changing the wrong address back to the correct one through this group "change address" feature?  When a user modifies their account address, it propagates right away down to the groups if I'm correct, albeit showing now as NC until the user clicks on the confirmation email link. <<<

I did test that and it does work, albeit the user goes to blue Bouncing right away, not NC (shouldn't it be both??), and while the admin can recover the address for the user, the account stays bouncing and the user has to also unbounce their account, the warning message and unbounce link are presented to them the next time they log in; or I guess when they see (and click) the bounce message if said member is an email user exclusively.

I think the way it does it now, i.e. assume the address is correct so go ahead and change the address before it gets the confirmation, is not right to me but that's a different can of worms :)

Cheers,
Christos