Topics

Possible Screen Reader problem with new page layout #website

Pamela Tatt

I have a group member who is totally blind and relies entirely on her screen reader to navigate the group pages.
Since the change to the layout with the menu being removed from the page view and made accessible from the links at the bottom of the page, she has not been able to find the menu.
I noticed that the other symbols have links when you put your cursor on them but the 3 solid 'hamburger' lines do not.
I believe this is the problem there would be no prompt from the screen reader to do anything???

Has anyone else found this to be a problem?  I have no experience whatsoever with screen readers so really do not know exactly how they work.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated so that I can help this very valued member of our group.

Pamela Tatt
Knit4Charities

Hi,

Can you ask your member which screen reader she is using? I might be able to forward her concerns to the right screen reader user forum so members can give her advice.

Cheers,

Joseph

From: GroupManagersForum@groups.io <GroupManagersForum@groups.io> On Behalf Of Pamela Tatt
Sent: Tuesday, February 16, 2021 4:01 PM
To: GroupManagersForum@groups.io
Subject: [GMF] Possible Screen Reader problem with new page layout #website

I have a group member who is totally blind and relies entirely on her screen reader to navigate the group pages.
Since the change to the layout with the menu being removed from the page view and made accessible from the links at the bottom of the page, she has not been able to find the menu.
I noticed that the other symbols have links when you put your cursor on them but the 3 solid 'hamburger' lines do not.
I believe this is the problem there would be no prompt from the screen reader to do anything???

Has anyone else found this to be a problem?  I have no experience whatsoever with screen readers so really do not know exactly how they work.