Re: Panadapter Software for the K3s

redarlington

On Thu, Apr 2, 2020 at 7:48 PM Barry Baines via groups.io <bbaines=mac.com@groups.io> wrote:
<snipped out my reply>

I’d appreciate your thoughts on using SDRPlay devices as well as the P3.  As noted in an earlier post, I’ve been using a P3 since 2015 when I run into issues with LP-PAN2 .  

1. I’m presuming that you’re connecting the K3 IF out to the IF input of the P3, switching on IF out on the P3, and then connecting a second cable between the P3 and the SDRPlay device.  Any issues with splitting the IF output from the K3 between the P3 and SDR Play at the same time?  Are there any signal level issues using two devices at the same time (perhaps the P3 provides a boosts to the output IF)?  

That's how it's connected.  The P3 has a switch to terminate the unused output if it's unused, or you can turn that off when you go out to the sdrplay.   It's a tiny little switch on the back of the unit near the BNC ports. 

2.  What software are you running for a Panadapter in conjunction with SDRPlay?  I’m familiar with SDRuno (I have several SDRduo devices), so is it necessary to run different software to replace SDRuno to get the panadapter capabiility? I have no familiarity with N1MM or similar software so my initial preference is running a dedicated Panadapter software package that can support the SDRduo device (even if only one tuner is recognized by the software). I do see on the SDRPlay website a software package called “Spectrum Analyser v1.04B" released in October 2019.  Anyone tried out this package?

The only software I use these days with it is Win4k3Suite.   All of the others that work with the sdrplay will work with it though.   The beauty of this little box is it's not tied to just the IF output frequency on the rig.  You can attach an antenna and it's another radio receiver.  I just have it setup for dedicated panadapter use.  The spectrum analyzer package works fine.