Re: [Elecraft_K3] Compare the K3 with the IC-7300, Fred's Law

Fred Townsend

Toasters? We don’t need no stinking toasters. The only thing they are good for is erasing DVDs and CDs. Seriously folks I have a long memory. As a consultant I have tracked down many design problems. When these problems originate in the far East it is always the same. When talking to the factory you have to sink up with their time schedule which means some midnight phone calls. Then after you describe the problem two or three times they try and reflect the issue back on me asking why am I trying to destroy their fine product. The fix is usually to design their component out. With most American and European components its usually, “How can we fix this problem.”  

With regard to ICOM I can remember a policy of making the customer pay for their engineering blunders that goes all the way back to their first synthesized FM rig. They have left a bad taste in my mouth. If I liked the 7300 I would still wait for the 7301.

As for Elecraft’s expensive manufacturing I will give you Fred’s Law which states the expense in time and money to fix any flaw is directly proportional to the distance between engineering and manufacturing. I think that distance is about three miles for Elecraft.

Call me a Kool-Aid drinker if you want but I like fast fixes and free software upgrades. I have no interest in even looking at a 7300.

Fred, AE6QL

Sent: Saturday, April 9, 2016 3:53 PM
To: Elecraft_K3@...
Subject: Re: [Elecraft_K3] Compare the K3 with the IC-7300