Re: CQ News Release -Announcing: 2019 Inductees, CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

Norman Heyen

Well deserved Dave,

Like so many others have said, your program suite has added so much to my enjoyment of ham radio. And the support you give exceeds what I've gotten from commercial software that costs >$10K per seat.



On May 17, 2019 at 1:00 AM Kent Olsen <kilo6dko@...> wrote:

     (Xenia, Ohio - May 17, 2019) - The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame has five new members for 2019, CQ magazine announced today. This brings to 326 the total number of members inducted since the hall's establishment in 2001. 
     The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to amateur radio; and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to amateur radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect of life on our planet. 
The 2019 inductees (listed alphabetically) are:
  • John Attaway, Sr., K4IIF (SK), served for more than 20 years as CQ's DX Editor, proposing the establishment of the CQ DX Hall of Fame in 1967. Professionally, John was a chemist who spent 26 years as Director of Scientific Research for the Florida Department of Citrus, where he worked to improve the quality of Florida orange juice. He served on several industry committees and was named to the Florida Citrus Hall of Fame in 2001.
  • Dave Bernstein, AA6YQ, author of the DXLab software suite, which he has placed in the public domain, and provided behind-the-scenes help in integrating the ARRL's Logbook of the World software with outside programs
  • Doreen Bogdan-Martin, KD2JTX, Director of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Telecommunication Development Bureau and the first woman ever to hold a senior elected position in the ITU
  • Predescu Florin Cristian, YO0CNU, founder of Europe's Youngsters On The Air (YOTA) program to encourage young people to become hams and be active on the air; and 
  • Ellen White, W1YL, the grand dame of DXing, served as the ARRL's Deputy Communications Manager, was QST magazine's DX editor, recorded QST on tape for the Library of Congress's talking book program for the visually-impaired, and was instrumental in the founding of Murphy's Marauders (the predecessor of today's Yankee Clipper Contest Club) and the Florida Contest Group. She was also recently awarded Russia's E.T. Krenkel Medal for outstanding global contributions to amateur radio.
Dave congratulations!!!


Join to automatically receive all group messages.