Re: HF9V installation and tuning

Scott AC8DE

Fred,

Welcome to the fold.  Yours is a quite unusual installation; a type that I have no personal experience with tuning myself.  However, there have been a few through here over the years that did do over freshwater installations that had good results, which we talked though.  That said, I have definitely noted some significant issues that are correctable.  The thoughts are in no specific order, as I've written them down as I've looked at your photos.  Note, it would be a lot easier to dissect if you would use the excel sheet found here.  Looking at the charts doesn't give exact info.  It's close, but an excel sheet is better.

https://groups.io/g/Butternut/files/Butternut%20Tuning%20Charts/AC8DE%20Antenna%20Tuning%20Chart%20Excel%2097-2003%20format.xls

First, I renamed your album to start with your call sign.  It's hard to find anything over time in a folder that doesn't start with the owner's call sign.

SWR is NOT in indicator of antenna efficiency, so let's get that out of the way first.  SWR is only a portion of the picture.  A dummy load has perfect SWR after all.

• Feed point height:  The height of the feed point above the ground plane should be a maximum of 6", with 3" being optimum.  You have your feed point at 15.75" above the water level/ground plane.  This is generally problematic for antenna tuning, but really problematic for efficiency.  Think of the results if you separate the two halves of a dipole by more than a couple inches.  Same thing with a vertical and its ground plane, as the ground plane is the "other half" of the antenna.  However, even with this high feed point, it may still be quite workable in an above water install, just understand the effect on bandwidth and efficiency.