Topics

Si5351A: facts and myths

Hans Summers

I'm forwarding this to the BITX group as someone suggested it may be interesting to some here!
73 Hans G0UPL

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Wed, Jun 28, 2017 at 10:15 AM
Subject: Si5351A: facts and myths
To: emrfd@...

Hi all

Forgive the long post please. I have extensive experience of the Si5351A now as many of the QRP Labs products are based around this miraculous little chip. So to some extent, I do know something about what I am talking about here ;-)

DDS vs PLL

This confuses a lot of people so just to clear this up at the start. DDS is Direct Digital Synthesis which simulates a sinewave by accumulating numbers in an internal register at regular intervals (determined by the system reference oscillator e.g. often 125MHz for the simple AD9850 DDS modules that are common). This accumulated count goes to a Digital To Analogue converter (DAC) in the chip, and through an anti-aliasing filter (which you must add external to the chip). Due to the discrete stepped nature of the simulated output sinewave, the frequency spectrum has spurs and this is a feature of DDS. Higher ratio of reference to output frequency, and wider DAC bit width both reduce the spurs. Analog Devices has market dominance of DDS chips and some very expensive high end chips as well as the more common cheaper ones.